newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Mon 12/18/00

<prior or next>

35 Women, John and Me

I had intended to get a lot of chores and projects done this weekend, but somehow I didn�t. Oh well. Anyway, the weekend:


Friday 12/15/00


I had every intention of getting up early and attacking the the day filled with energy and vigor. Obviously I didn�t. I did eventually get up, do a couple of things around the house, then head down to Orange County in the afternoon. The plan was for me to meet up with Kristen in the late afternoon, have dinner and see a movie. I left Los Angeles fairly early �cause I didn�t want to deal with rush hour traffic. Unfortunately, I still got stuck in traffic on the 5 going through Norwalk. I hung out at the Block in Orange for a couple of hours and spent most of that wandering though Virgin. I got John a CD, then decided to get one for me, then I found another good gift, then found another CD for me, then stopped browsing �cause I was sensing a pattern developing. I also bought a few stocking stuffer type presents for the nephews at the local toy store. I somehow managed not to buy anything there for me there

Kristen and I meet up around five and had dinner at the Asia Noodle Cafe in Woodbridge (a neighborhood in Irvine with a shopping center, a lake and well, a wood bridge). Dinner was lumpia and edamame with a Vietnamese style beef ramen for Kristen and a Typei ramen bowl for me. My bowl was a little plain tasting, but became much more interesting after dumping all of Kristen's extra chilies and sauce in it.

It was a little strange being in Woodbridge. I hadn�t been there in years. Driving by the lake I was reminded of a date I had back when I was in school. I was seeing a Graduate student named Lars at the time. We had dinner at a place that had �Irish Nachos� then walked around the lake afterwards. I remember being happy and I also remember kissing Lars on the bridge. Yeash, that was something like thirteen years ago. I have lost track of Lars over the years, but assuming all went to plan, he is somewhere up in Northern California with a doctorate, probably a lover as well. He was a really nice guy and I hope that he�s happy.

After dinner we saw The Emperors New Groove at the Spectrum. One sentence review: �well that was fun.� And it was. Sillier and more �Warner Bros.� than you would expect from a Disney Cartoon, but it was cute. I had been hoping that there would be an Eartha Kitt/Catwoman reference and there was sorta, so I was satisfied.

We wandered around for a little bit after the movie, then called it a night.


Saturday 12/17/00:


After mentioning several times that the front yard was looking a little ragged, I realized that John was actually asking me to do something about it, so I spent a couple of hours weeding, cleaning up plants and watering. I�m being a little lazy about the yard, but I don�t seem to have much motivation or desire to do anything out there lately.

Barb and Laurie had a party that night and every other guy who had been invited flaked out and didn�t bother come. A coworker of Babr didn�t come �cause he plays D&D on alternate Saturdays so he told her he couldn�t be there. Ahem. So anyway, there were 35 women and John and me. I got the chance to catch up with Letty & Rickie, Bri & Athena, Lisa, Lydia, Carm, Cindi, Amy and others that night and I had a bunch of fun.

Being a Barb and Laurie party, there were party games. A guess the Christmas song game that Barb got John to organize and a white elephant gift exchange. John had �sexy suggestion Dice� for about two minutes, then ended up with a humongous freebie planet Out T-shirt. Of course, we already had a couple of the shirts at home. I had a couple of cool mugs for one turn and ended up with a bottle of wine by the end of the game. I don�t drink wine and it wasn�t a brand that John liked, so we ended up giving it to the hosts. At least we didn�t end up with the gold plastic swapmeet unicorn clock. Anyhow, much fun was had and I ate a lot of junk food.


Sunday 12/17/00:


John and I went out shopping and accidentally ended up with a brand new computer. Well actually that�s not entirely true. We went to Fry�s to price printers and they had a good sale/deal going on for Imacs. We had been planning on getting a new computer soon and giving our current one to his parents. We just ended up doing it a lot sooner than we had originally planed.

I was really tired for some reason when we got home and ended up falling asleep on the couch in the office while John worked on getting the new Mac set up. I woke up to it all set up and running. Nice how I timed that.

So this is the first entry on the new machine and the first CD played on it is Fatboy Slim�s Halfway between the gutter and the stars. I think I like most of it, just haven�t entirely made up my mind yet.


more later, nico





<<Antes<<>>Despues>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007