newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


mon 02/18/2002

<prior or next>

Two teardrop tattoos under your eyes do not keep you from being a Queen



Once again, an entry that is not in chronological, thematic, or logical order. It�s a wonder anyone reads this stuff :-)

The entry:

I sometimes scribble notes to myself about things I want to discuss in the journal. It would probably be a good thing to actually look at them before I write these things. I mention this because I just found one that said �milk commercial.�

Which was suppose to have reminded me to mention that I finally did see the La Llorona Got Milk commercial a while back. It was weird and it was funny and I still find the idea of using a folk tale about a kind of repentant murderess ghost to sell milk a rather odd idea. However, not so odd that I didn�t laugh my head off the first time I saw it.

~~~~~~~


John and I were at a party in Los Feliz Sunday night (02/17/02). Elvis decided to throw a luau in honor of Janet Jackson�s HBO special. Elvis is a huge Janet fan. Not dead Elvis, but rather the shorter, gay, Filipino, good friend of John�s Elvis.

Food that night was chicken adobo, lumpia, beef satay and steamed rice. There were very few nondead flesh items that John could eat, but even with the over emphasis on meat, it was a good spread.

I knew several of the guests, but in a �I�ve met you before at other parties, but we�ve never really said anything other than hello� kind of way. Conversation that night was exactly what you would expect of a party filled with dancers, out gay former cholos, �interior design experts�, bartenders, psychobiology grad students, and the like. That is, the talk that night was weird and odd.

I also found it odd that the biggest, hunkiest, beefiest, bear of the cholo guys kept referring to himself as a huge queen. Actually, he called every man there a queen. Even the straight men.

As an aside, I�ve learned that there is a very simple way to tell if a man is Gay or Straight. Have myJohn take photos of him. If he drops all of his clothing before John even has a chance to take the lens cap off of his camera, he�s gay. If he doesn�t, he�s straight. A gross generalization, but amusing anyway. (Good thing I�m not the jealous type.)

As a second aside, Elvis has modeled for John, but unlike Manny, (the host of a party we were at last week) Elvis didn�t have nudie shoots of himself plastered all over his walls.

~~~~~~~


A lil� bit for Thom (aka: the wondrous bbb), the latest kinky, er, odd googly searches leading folks here:

-Shirtless hunky firemen
-Wild, naked, exhibitionist neighbors
-Nude ex-gay men
-Sex with gay rickshaw drivers
-Shirtless men in nasty shorts

~~~~~~~


John and I finally saw A Beautiful Mind this weekend. I think it deserved a lot of the allocates that it has received and I enjoyed it immensely. Even with the John Nash is bisexual in real life, but sort of straight in the movie �because we didn�t want people to equate homosexuality with mental illness� subdued controversy.

There are a couple of scenes in the movie were he quickly looks at another man, but if you weren�t looking specifically for them, you would have missed it. Should they have shown a young Mr. Nash scamming on some guy and then becoming schizophrenic? Would it have bogged down the story? Would the general public have thought �of course he went bonkers, he was too smart for his own good and a queer on top of that!

I�m not sure what my opinion is.

~~~~~~~


Fernando (the high school ______ coach I mentioned last entry) threw a birthday party for his boyfriend Enrique Wednesday night (02/13/02). It was filled with family, friends, and tons of little kids running under foot. Dinner was chicken mole and for the practicing Catholics, arroz con camarones. Oddly enough, none of the straight people there had any ashes. I guess I should point out that it was Ash Wednesday and that it was a heavy Latino crowd.

It was also the day before valentines day, and as a combined birthday/valentines gift, Fernando is taking Enrique to Palm Springs for the weekend. Very sweet and very romantic.

It turns out that one of Enrique�s best friends happens to be a neighbor of mine. Esteban and his partner Larry live farther up the hill from John and me. They can see part of our front yard from their living room.

We spent a little bit too much time talking about the neighbors, and I found out that the gray haired man who I sometimes see driving around in what would appear to be just a bathrobe, is their divorced, fifty something, bisexual next door neighbor.

I�m thinking that our hill may be a bit odd people wise.


more later,

nico



Music:
Various disco collections
-

Want:
A ham & cheese sandwich from Super Torta.

<<The incoherent entry::::Nico is not>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007