newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


tue 03/05/2002

<prior or next>

Stupefying fags and other creatures



I wrote last week that I was tired of writing about my life. I still am, but that didn�t stop me from throwing together some overly random stuff for this entry.

Read on, or jump off to another site, it�s all up to you.

The entry:




A fairly typical work conversation:

Lynn and WorkJohn were discussing a retail chicken slaughtering place that opened up near to our office. It�s the kind of establishment were you can pick out a bird and they will kill/gut/defeather it for you.

This started a whole rambling and quite frankly gross conversation involving the entire office discussing such subjects as fresh meat vs. old meat, gamey meat vs. nongamey meat, the lack of edible flesh on pigeons and quails, why beef brains are considered baby food in Mexico, the taste of rattlesnake vs. the taste of ostrich meat, and the recent discovery of an as of yet lone cow in Ireland with BSE (ie: mad cow disease).


body issues:

Isn�t thirty-four too old to have a big old whopping, huge, ugly, nasty zit in the middle of my face?

Isn�t thirty-four too old to care?


geekdom:

Last comic purchases weren�t comics per say, but rather collections. I got the hardback League of Extraordinary Gentlemen collection. I won�t bother to try to explain the series except to say that it is a rare comic book that leaves me feeling illiterate.

I also purchased the latest What�s Michael collection, a series of books I�d recommend to any cat people out there.


Dinner in ten easy steps:

1. Decide on the commute home that you are going to make a healthy dinner for you and your hubby consisting of broccoli and rice using the �it�s not wilted yet� broccoli sitting in the fridge.
2. Get home, only to find out that your hubby already ate dinner, do not glare at him.
3. Pull out the broccoli from the fridge, noticing that you have half of a veggie �dos manos� burrito from Baja Fresh.
4. Cut up the broccoli into fairly small pieces so that it won�t take long to cook as you �pan steam� them.
5. Just as the broccoli is moments from being done, decide that you don�t really want broccoli and rice, and would rather eat the left over burrito.
6. Decide that you might as well just throw the burrito into the pan with the broccoli instead of nuking it.
7. Realize that the burrito is not going to co-operate with you as you end up tearing it into shreds.
8. Decide, what the hey, shredded burrito is just as good a whole burrito, besides, it will cook faster, and besides, tossing a bunch of cold stuff into the pan may prevent the broccoli from overcooking too much.
9. Finish heating everything up, then toss it all onto a plate w/some fresh salsa.
10. Decide that while it may look weird, broccoli w/left over burrito bits tastes pretty good.

Show queen:

John and I saw In to the Woods Saturday night (03/02/02). It was a good production, which was to be expected I guess, since there have been articles in the paper recently about how Soundheim was involved.

From John, I sort of knew what would happen, fairy tales retold in the first act, then the consequences are faced after �happily ever after,� including destruction, mayhem, and death. What I didn�t expect, was that the story wasn�t overly simplistic. I had a feeling I would enjoy the show, but I hadn�t been expecting it to be complicated.

Not that it was overly complicated. From what John told me afterwards, a couple of the lines had been changed to make things even more obvious, dumbing down the show as it were. Jack�s (of the the bean stalk and dead giant) was also played by an actor in a cow suit instead of just being a toy, or statue or whatever it usually is. The audience loved that dang cow. It almost got as much applause as Vanessa Willams did at the end of the show. I imagine that she wouldn�t have been too happy happy if it had gotten more.

While walking down to the car after the show, we passed some women talking about how gruesome the Cinderella story was with the cutting off of toes and pecking out of eyes and all. From what I can remember, in many early versions of the story, the sisters and step mother (real mother?) are usually tortured and or put to death during the wedding ceremony.

Thinking about it now, from what I�ve read, the earliest versions of red ridding hood were even worse. After a series of gruesome, pseudo sexual stuff, the wolf eats the girl, the end.

Probably why a more chipper version of the story was used for the musical. heh.


More show queen, but not really:

That friday (03/01/02), we saw The Moliere Comedies (The school for husbands & The imaginary cuckold). Two one act comedies. Two one act period pieces. Two one act period pieces with both male and female actors.

Not so strange, except that I seen so many L.A. Women�s Shakespeare productions over the years, that I�m more used to seeing women play all the roles whenever a actors are spouting off thees, and thous, and are obsessing over being cuckold.

It was my problem only, and it wasn�t even a problem.

The plays were funny, as long as you didn�t think about them in modern terms. An older man raising a girl with the intent of marrying her as soon as his property, er, as soon as she became of age?

Um ya, that wouldn�t be extremely creepy and gross if someone ever tried to modernize it. yuck.


Funky dream:

Have I mentioned odd dreams in the journal before? I�m too lazy to bother with checking if I have or not, but I did have what I assume to be a very strange dream the other night.

I don�t really remember any of the dream, but I do remember someone telling me I was �One stupefying Fag!� right before I woke up.

For some reason, it made me proud.


more later,

nico



Music:
random ska collections
-

Want:
vacation


Elsewhere:
Stories of ugly male genitalia


<<Nico is not::::Last Thursday>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007