newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Wed 07/24/2002

<prior or next>

Contrary Mary



The weather has been nicely warm recently. Maybe a bit too smoggy, but overall not too bad. A middle of summer kind of heat, with occasional toasty wind. It�s the kind of weather that my mother hates. She much prefers it in her tierra, where the ocean plays a large role in moderating the heat of summer. Of course, I�m only a little bit inland compared to some of the rest of the family. One of my Tia�s is out in the near desert and is looking at temps in the low hundreds.

I prefers my toasty weather to her baked to a crisp climate. Most of the plants are doing ok with this weather as well, while others, like the beans have just about had it with the heat. After weeks of production and meals, the bean plants are tired looking and a bit chewed up as well. Some critter has been snacking on them.

On the other hand, the first of the tomatoes have come in. I indulged in a summer favorite last night, a tomato sandwich. Sort of a BLT, minus the B and the L. Instead, it was thick slices of homegrown tomato on toast with a bit of pesto, a couple of torn basil leaves (also home grown, adding to the overall nellyness of the meal), a crackling of pepper, and a light dusting of salt. It was good in a way that was all out of proportion to what I was eating.

Unfortunately, I'm not quite sure what kind of tomato it is exactly that I'm eating. Of the three tomato plants producing right now, one is obviously a yellow current, one is obviously a yellow cherry, and the one I'm raving over is, well, red.

Each year I put out seedlings in the spring. Each year intend to properly label everything. Each year I somehow manage not to follow through. All I do know for sure, is that it's not the Mr. Stripy, since I remember where I planted them, and that it's not the Lemon Boy, since it's well, not yellow.

There are some other things in the veggie garden besides the tomatoes I've already mentioned. The two yellow zucchini's are producing fine. With luck I won't regret planting two of them as the summer continues and production increases. I've not been so lucky with a small round variety I tried on a whim. I kept one plant and gave out the other seedlings to my family. My mom's is covered in little round tasty zucs, while mine is just sitting there. It's covered in flowers, but since they are almost all male flowers, nothing much is happening by way of fruit. The few female flowers that have appeared so far have withered without leaving anything behind.

The cucumbers look iffy at the moment as well. They aren't as big as they were by this time last year. Even so, I'm hoping for the best.

Finally there are the peppers. Lord knows why, but I went a bit overboard this year with planting different kinds of chiles. Even ones I know are too hot for me. The little bushes of fiery death are doing great, which means I'm going to be giving chiles to my father later this summer, since he�s the only one in the family who�d be able to eat �em.

There�s gonna be some deadly hot salsa coming from my folks house this summer.



more later,

nico



Music:
the Run Lola Run soundtrack


Want:
Sandia


Elsewhere:
this entry is for you bub. As long as you put on some SPV 40. This California sun has been fierce lately.


<<why should anyone care::::a veces soy feliz>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007