newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Monday 03/17/2003

<prior or next>

A list consisting of ten largely unrelated subjects




One
A couple of weeks ago, Mr. Biologic asked folks for their ten favorite movies. I meant to respond, but life got in the way. So very belatedly, here are my current ten favorite flicks in reverse alphabetical order:
Wings of Desire
Time Bandits
Star Trek II, the Wrath of Khan
Run Lola Run
North by Northwest
Diva
City of Lost Children
Blade Runner
Black Orpheus
La Belle et la Bete (Jean Cocteau)

The words sad, geek and snob come to mind.


Two
There is a lack of gay flicks in my top ten list. I am not entirely sure what would be on my list of top ten queer flicks, but it would probably include My Beautiful Launderette, Desert Hearts, and Parting Glances. This probably has more to do with nostalgia and my coming out in the early eighties than any thing else.

I do know that my top ten queer list would not include In&Out, Birdcage, or (shudder) Traveling to Olympia.


Three
A few weeks ago my sister had job interview in La Mesa. Her car is acting rather cranky these days and no one trusted that it would make the trip without having at least one temper tantrum, so being the good big brother that I am, I ended up driving her down to San Diego. I would have preferred to have made a day of it, but unfortunately because of conflicting schedules and commitments that wasn't possible, and we ended having to come back up as soon as she was done. I ended up driving over 300 miles that day.

The only point in my mentioning this is that I am after some pity here, so come on people, get with the offering of sympathy and poor poor nico e-mails.


Four
There was a minor hubbub a couple of months ago when marvel comics announced that it was going to release a new comic featuring an old western character the rawhide kid. The gimmick being that in this version, the kid was going to be coyly gay. From the articles I read, the words gay or homosexual were not going to be used. It was supposed to be a nudge, nudge, wink, wink level of humor, which made me think that he was going to be turned into a gun slinging cowboy version of that fey guy from Are you being served.

Not that I really cared. I was never big into westerns and even if I were, the heyday for western comics is long gone.

The first two issues of the new series are out, and it's neither bad, nor good. Each issue has a big adults only parental advisory logo on the cover. Freaked out over reacting lawyers are probably responsible for the logo, because to be honest, they aren't needed at all. So far there has been nothing in the content of the story that has been particularly dangerous to impressionable young minds, or particularly adult for that matter.

Compared to the sensationalized and eroticized violence of most superhero comic books, the rawhide kid's story of a sheriff dealing with everyone in town thinking he is a yellow bellied coward while a well dressed gunfighter rides into town is amazingly subtle, tame and only mildly amusing. So far, the most risqu� (and humorous) thing about the series has been the gun as penis cover art.


Five
During a lunch with my sister at a not as bad as I feared hospital cafeteria, I offered her some of my spicy hot something or another cheettos. She took one look at them and told me "Ah, my arch nemesis."

When I asked her exactly why an extruded piece of puffed corn pulp counted as a nemeses, she told me that in her unscientific, nondouble blind tested doctor opinion, cheetos were the leading cause of constipation in eight year olds. As we were eating, I didn't ask her to elaborate any further.


Six
One of the days I was actually at work last week, instead of hovering around the hospital, I had to sort through a mountainous stack of papers. One of them was the new revised bereavement policy. Very bad timing considering my father.

I read the thing and it ticked me off. An employee can have up to three days of bereavement leave for certain family members and in the case of the death of a domestic partner, the employee can use his or own time to leave work

I got the feeling that I was somehow supposed to be thankful for the tiny breadcrumb of allowing me the possibility of using my sick time to deal with the hypothetical death of my partner.

This half-assed, partial rights business pisses me off.

The proverbial drunk het couple that was so wasted they didn't even realize they got married the night before by an Elvis impersonator have more rights than I do. Idiotic straight people who don't even know each other can get married on network reality TV versions of game shows, yet somehow, my being able to marry the man I love and have spent the past twelve plus years of my life with would destroy the institution of marriage.

Bull.


Seven
John and I recently had dinner with a friend at Ciudad. I don't usually eat at 'name' restaurants, but this was good. John had a roasted vegetable platter, while Beth and I both ended up choosing tamarind glazed salmon with cumin cabbage and garlic mashed yucca. While not the best salmon I've ever had, it was up there in taste.

For desert, we shared a torte de tres leches (good for what it was, even though I'm not really into sopping wet cakes), and a goat cheese flan (possibly the best flan I have ever had).

I may have to force John to go back there sometime.


Eight
John, Beth, and I saw John Leguizamo's Sexaholic last Saturday night. Extremely funny, and probably the only show ever performed at the Ahmanson to mention taste testing of certain bodily fluids.

Now if I can just figure out how to get the phrase "I want to #%$@& him like a screen door in a hurricane" into everyday conversation, I'll be set.


Nine
Compared to many other blogs and online journals, mine has a tendency towards the fluffy and vacuous. It also does a very poor job of keeping track of every little thing and event going on in my life.

There are a couple of reasons for this. One is that I simply do not always feel like writing about my life. I have lunch or dinner with my best bud Kristen nearly weekly, but you wouldn't know that from reading the journal. There's been barely a peep about her the past few months' worth of entries. Not because my hanging out with her isn't worth mentioning, but because I just don't feel like making an effort to write about these times.

Another reason for the lightness of the entries is my reluctance in sharing anything too personal, important, or revealing. I've long ago decided that if something isn't public knowledge about me in my real life, it is not going to be shared here.

I mention this not because anything is going to change here, but as a prelude to why there hasn't been anything up here lately. My father has been ill. I did not want to write about it unless/until he was out of the hospital and well again, and if he is not entirely healthy now, my father is at least better and home now. I also did not feel like writing something frivolous while he was sick. That seemed pointless. Additionally, there was the fact that I was a bit busy dealing with family during this time and didn�t have much free time to write even if I had been up to it.

It seems that now that I know he is going to ok, I am up to this again.


Ten
Falling into the category of a story about a friend of friend, I found out that some people I know of are in a huge panic because their daughter has failed all of her kindergarten interviews, and if they don't do something fast, they will be forced to send their child to 'GASP' public school!!!!!!!!!

Words fail.



more later,

nico


<<I do not::::I've been ill>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007