newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


07/26/2004

<prior or next>

Republican Borgs and other sightings at Con




One of these days I probably should grow up and act my age, until then, I’ll continue to have odd little stories and observations about attending San Diego Comic Con to tell.

So in no particular order, 13 stories and observations from an ill spent weekend:

1. The usual cosplay folks were out n’ about promoting their love for whatever franchise had their interest, so there were loads of comic book heroes, movie, anime, manga, video game characters, and people just working their renaissance fair clothes for all their worth. Star Trek drag seems to have fallen out of favor, since there were very few Star Fleet officers. There were still Klingons mulling angrily about the convention halls though. Nothing’s ever going to take those Klingons down.

2. Someone has made a film called Ringers, Lord of the Fans, a Lord of the Rings version of the Trekkies documentary.

3. Other tends in costumes which caught my eye were hoards of pirates, more Hogworth students than usual, fairies (of the glittery wing variety), some seventeenth century looking royalty, and seen wandering the streets of the gaslamp district looking for a restaurant to eat lunch in, some civil war solders and a southern belle. At least I think that last bunch was with the con, otherwise there was a civil war reenactment going on somewhere.

4. Dinner one night was at Todai (a sort of Japanese’ish seafood buffet). Food was acceptable, but the other customers weren’t. After being given a table, we went off to get our food; only to find out a family (all adults) had moved our ticket/receipt to another table because they wanted ours. This confused staff who started serving the wrong drinks to the wrong people and didn’t know what was going on. As long as I had food, I didn’t care too much about the rude behavior, but it was annoying when I saw the table coveters praying before eating. I tried not to smirk when one of the women apparently hurt herself trying to crack a crab leg.

5. I saw a fairly attractive and possibly gay Hawkman there. I’m not assuming he was gay because he was cute, had a good body, and a pierced nipple, but rather because when a man came up to him and touched his stomach asking him how he managed to keep it so flat, instead of a heterosexual panic attack, Mr. Hawkman just started talking about dieting and working out.

6. I tried getting a good picture of a woman dressed up as Tank girl, but every time I hit the button, a goofy faced straight man would pop out of nowhere and block my view of her ICBM bra. Women strapping tactical nukes to their chests seem to attract a lot of attention.

7. There were some parents there who had dressed up their kids to match their own costumes, so a group of Cobra soldiers (the GI Joe villains) included a little cobra toddler, and a family of video game things had a young video game thing. I’m imagining that when it comes time for little Jr. to rebel against his folks, he’s going to announce that he wants to become an accountant.

8. Every year there are more women showing up dressed in relatively tame, not super overt sexual latex and rubber fetish outfits, but no men. Why is that?

9. As anyone who’s been to a renaissance fair can attest to, people in loose chain armor are noisy.

10. Another time I came across a noisy costume, it was someone wearing some sort of warrior outfit with clanky chains on their boots. I almost started laughing hysterically when I heard a guy behind me say in all honesty “But what’s the good in that, you can’t sneak up your enemies.”

11. Within the first hour of my first day actually inside the main convention hall, I saw a jedi knight mock threaten a Slytherin Hogworth’s student. That was when I decided that I was going to need frequent breaks of alone time while there. Unfortunately I didn’t head my own advice.

12. I was about to take a photo of a guy in an elaborate borg costume when I heard him dissing Kerry. Borg republicans, who knew?

13. One booth had actors dressed as the Flash and Wonder Woman for people to take their pictures with. I was stuck in a crowd behind them, so I decided what the hey, and took a photo of the Flash’s ass, cause well, it was right there and what else would you do in that situation?

That’s when someone behind me said “Did you just take a picture of that guys ass?” I was about to turn around and say yes what of it, then stopped when I noticed that everyone around me, men and women were taking pictures of the Flash’s ass cause well, it was right there and what else would anyone do in that situation?


-nico


by the way, the ass:

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007