newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


06/08/2005

<prior or next>

Of Kings, Queens, and STD humor


I don�t think that I ever got around to writing something about Mathew Bourne�s Play Without Words. I liked it. It�s been nearly a month now since we saw it, and the thing is closed already, so although I originally had more to write on the use of dance to portray intent of dialogue, it seems sort of pointless to do so.

Before it gets to the same level of pointless, I should probably mention something about seeing Madagascar with my friend K. We were hanging out a couple of weeks ago and she was in the mood for a movie. I thought about suggesting the star wars flick, but like John, she�s actively allergic to anything even remotely star wars related. I should get around to seeing it on my own one of these days I suppose.

Madagascar was more or less fine for what it was, not a great flick, but neither bad. The animation was nice and the story not too uninteresting. I thought that throwing around the word Pansy a couple of times was odd, but then decided (rightly or wrongly) to not be bothered by it.

For me, the best thing about it was the lack of a heterosexual love story. Which just means that the trailer for the new Herbie the love bug movie kinda bugged me in a weird way. I�m sure that the inevitable direct to video sequel will introduce nice safe opposite sex girlfriends and boyfriends for all the animals, but for now, the focus on friendship was refreshingly nonromantic.

During the required after the movie men�s room stop, I walked by a man with a five or six year old boy who spoke with an English accent, thanking his Uncle for the trip. The boy then started to whistle Ease on Down the Road from The Wiz. Proof I guess that from a young age, English men are trained in the art of confusing Americans about their sexuality.

Another oddities of the movie going experience was in the lobby with some cardboard displays for Sky High, a sort of high school for super powered teens movie. On each board, individual characters were shown in heroic poses with a goofy phrase summing up their power or attitude. One was of a �cool� teen boy whose phrase was �He�s a Burning Sensation.�

I looked at thing for a few minutes and decided that had to be someone�s idea of a subversive joke. The trailer shows the boy as being some sort of a too cool for school, bad boy with firepowers, so burning sort of makes sense, but still. That has to be a joke. Right?

more later,
nico

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007