newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


09/26/2005

<prior or next>

A summers worth of events (the flicks)


I saw and enjoyed The Corpse Bride this past weekend. Most things I�m reading about it run along the lines of �it�s good, but it�s no Nightmare!� Which I guess is sort of true, though that view point may have more to do with people�s adoration of Nightmare. My friend K, who is not a Nightmare Before Christmas fan thought that Corpse Bride was much better, while I thought it was the other way �round�which in the end probably means nothing.

Anyway, it was good and as normal for me, the audience was sort of weird. There were lots of young goth boys and girls there, which didn�t make them odd, just teenagers. What was weird was their overly loud love of the Chicken Little trailer. There�s no way an unstoned person could have enjoyed it that much.

Despite not writing about any of them, Corpse Bride is not the sole movie I�ve seen these past several months, although since it has only been Howl�s Moving Castle (impressive), Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (fun), and Bewitched (meh). I�ve not exactly been a movie going fiend this year. I never got around to seeing the last Star Wars flick, forgot to see Batman Begins, and couldn�t get enthused enough about Fantastic Four, to even think about seeing it.

If I had been on the ball about keeping up to date with the �this is my life� entries and had I remembered to include stuff about the few movies I did see, most my observations would not have been too interesting, although some of you might have found it cute if I had included a bit about how enthralled all the kids in the audience were with Howls Moving Castle. It�s hard not to go �aww� about a little girl crying out �OH NO!� during a particularly harrowing scene for the movie�s heroine. The only other audience story I would have considered relating would have also been from Howls, not involving a little girl, but rather a slightly annoying, oversized, steroidal looking gym queen who merely giggled like a little girl.

So no, not much missed movie wise. I did start up a netflix account a couple of months ago, so instead of questioning the wisdom of purchasing a cola flavored Icee, I�ve been wasting time watching Julia Childs, Sister Wendy, old movie versions of Dr. Who, and a few British sitcoms. Yeah, my anglophile tendencies are showing, though considering it�s been rewatching half remembered episodes of Allo� Allo� and viewing the Vicar of Delby for the first time, it�s not exactly been of the snotty highbrow sort.

Considering that my queue consists almost solely of documentaries, old children science fiction shows, a few British TV shows, a few classics, and a couple of silent movies, it probably says that I�m a big ol� geek. I do have some Avengers episodes listed though. Does a fondness for Steed and Emma Peel make up for the rest, or does that lost episodes collection of Dr. Who make me a lost cause?

more later,
nico

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007