newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Mon 03/12/01

<prior or next>

Cranky socks and crossdressing teenboy protagonists



I'm in a crabby mood. A cranky, annoyed, I want to yell at somebody, bleagh sort of mood. I'm not sure what specifically bought this on, other than I'm alive and being alive can leave you moody. So far, being crabby has meant listening to Cibo Matto and old Nine Inch Nails while sorting through old pay stubs and tax stuff. I'm not reorganizing them as was my original intention, so much as I'm just stacking them into assorted little piles all over the place. At least I'm not vaguely depressed anymore.

It didn't help my mood any today, that the first thing that happened at work was that I finally got my new ID for this year. I have no idea why it took three months into the year to get them, but it did. I also have no idea why it's so freaking ugly. I don't look that bad in real life. The photograph makes me look like a waxy stuffed anemic corpse with demented glass eyes, a twisted smile and no eyebrows. How do you remove eyebrows? My only, if decidedly mean spirited, bit of consolation is that everyone's photos look bad. A few even somehow manage to look worse than mine. Even with no eyebrows.

~~~~~~~

John's birthday was this weekend, which meant that over the course of the past week he has had at least six separate mini birthday parties thrown for him by friends and co-workers. It also means that he is totally sick of birthday cake. The trials you face when turning 35, so very difficult (note: thick, heavy, gooey sarcasm). Despite my mood, I didn't give him to much grief over his birthday. John is about a year and a some months older than I am, so I'll be there myself soon enough.

His folks came up Sunday (03/11/01) and we had a late brunch at the Good Earth restaurant in Pasadena to celebrate the event. The meal was fairly good, but I was being to grouchy to really enjoy it. I was poor company for a lot of the day. Anyway, after food we ran some errands and did some shopping. The entire weekend was spent spending money in one way or another, maybe that's part of the cause of my grumpiness.

One of the errands was going to Ikea to look for a floor lamp for the bedroom. Once again, you couldn't swing a cat with out hitting a gay man. Um, that's a horrible image. How about you couldn't swing a throw pillow without hitting a gay guy in the face. Much more femmy and somehow, more fitting.

The bedroom looks a lot better with the new bed, dresser and now, new floor lamp. What we really need to do is to finish actually putting clothes into the dresser. So far it only has a couple of t-shirts and a bunch of socks. Lots and lots of socks.

I had no idea we owned so many socks. We may have pairs of socks that predate John and me as a couple. I'm thinking this because I can't recall seeing either of us ever wearing some of them. All they do is take up space, so the smart thing to do would be to get rid of them. Toss them or donate them or something. Although, that seems unfair somehow. They've survived for this long, how could I weed them out now? One of us could decide to wear one of them, they aren't torn or anything. I could possibly want to wear that ugly preppy looking argyle thing someday. As unlikely as that would be, it is conceivable. This is probably how pack rats are born. Next thing you know the house will be filled with junk reaching to the ceiling and the only way to move around it will be through tiny narrow paths.

~~~~~~~

Kristen came up late Saturday (03/10/01) afternoon and we did the dinner/ anime thing again. Dinner was Wild Thyme in South Pas. (Salad Nicoise for her and a Cajon Turkey sandwich thing for me) and the anime was more episodes of Bubble Gum Crises and Dual something or another. The relatively complicated plot line of Bubble gum got really convoluted and the end appears to be coming soon. There was a funny scene were the character that Kristen and I want to be a lesbian is flipping through a magazine with two women hugging on the cover. It appears to be just a fashion mag, but the scene is eyebrow raising.

I wasn't to impressed with the other series Dual I can't remember the title, whatever. The art is really nice, but I wasn't to taken with the giant robots at war story line or the "all the female characters want/ love / lust/ like the male protagonist" genre. The only interesting bit was when the teenage male protagonist is forced to go into battle disguised as a very buxom teenage girl because of a plot point. It was funny, but not quite funny enough.

Anyway, enough of this. More later,

nico

<<<past---despues>>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007