newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Mon 04/16/01

<prior or next>

"Linear narrative? We don't need no stinkin' linear narrative!"

aka: The one where nico fails to mention a week spent biting the heads off of chocolate Easter bunnies.

Seven random, ok not so random, factoids and story-ets from the past week in no particular order:

If you were on the 5 freeway northbound headed into Los Angeles late saturday night (01/14/01) and saw an insane man screaming in pain in the car speeding driving at a legal speed in the next lane over, there was no need to worry. It was only me and I wasn't screeching in pain, so much as I was just signing along to the The Selector. I've been in an old Ska mood music wise, that's all. There really wasn't any need for you to look so terrified and immediately get off at the next exit.

OK, so I didn't actually scare anyone off the freeway, but I did get a couple of odd looks that night. Exactly how you're not supposed to sing along to "Too much pressure," that's what I want to know.

~~~~~~~

John and I spent Easter (04/15/01) at his folks house eating way too much food of questionable nutritional value and watching the nephews scramble around searching for candy 'n toys that the Easter Rabbit may have left for them.

The eldest of the boys is turning nine soon and is in the middle of a growth spurt. It seems like he's inches taller every time I turn around. He is definitely going to be taller than I am, but since I'm not that overly tall, it's not to difficult an accomplishment.

~~~~~~~

I had to represent my office at a town hall meeting Wednesday night (04/11/01). The place was filled with politicians, community leaders, local activists, government representatives, the general public and the people who hate them all. In other words, it was loud, messy, occasionally mean spirited and at times really loud. It was democracy at work and all that.

At one point during the evening, there was a man who was totally livid that he had not been allowed to vote for the major of Los Angeles. He claimed ineptitude, incompetence and outright corruption as reasons why this occurred. The answer, of course, was much simpler, mainly that he didn't actually live in the City of Los Angeles. That answer didn't seem to satisfy him though.

~~~~~~~

I wanted to be consumer this weekend. I wanted to purchase things I didn't need. I wanted to take part in and promote the random waste and violence and destruction to both the environment and society caused by the need to have more and more and even more. I wanted to be an integral member of our capitalist society. I wanted to be PART OF THE SYSTEM dagnabit.

OK, maybe I didn't want all that, but I did feel like buying something. A book or a used CD maybe.

~~~~~~~

Kristen and I had tentative plans to go dancing Saturday night (04/14/01). Obviously, we didn't. We did have dinner and a movie though. Food was chicken adobo, pancit and a garlicky rice dish at Mango Grill.

The movie was Haunted Castle down at the Irvine Spectrum. It was a largely computer animated, 3-D, short, scary, Imax kind of flick and was interesting in a Myst/Riven/Haunted Mansion at Disneyland kind of way. I'm not sure that I'd actually recommend it to anyone unless they were major animation geeks. Talking about it afterwards with Kristen, I decided that the protagonist was gay merely because he was a rock star wanna be with a mother fixation who could sing opera. heh.

~~~~~~~

I didn't buy a CD or a book, but I did get a couple of comics and a fairly good almond Italian soda this weekend. I bought the latest issue of Akiko, an "all ages"/ kids/ cute comic book featuring a Japanese American girl and her adventures in outer space. I also bought an issue of Lucifer, a "non-all ages"/ non-kids/ mature readers/ not cute comic book featuring, uh, well, Lucifer, along with lots of stylized violence, assorted mythologies and psychological horror.

No wonder the store clerk looked at me funny when I paid for my purchases.

~~~~~~~

After John's sister took the boys to visit their other grandparents, John's folks house got much quieter and I ended up asleep on the living room couch. My atrocious sleeping habits are catching up with me. Anyway, a random noise woke me up an hour or so later. I heard the family joking and playing poker in the next room and when I halfway opened my eyes, I saw the household cats staring up at me from the floor. I couldn't tell if they were weighing the merits of jumping up onto the couch and using me as a comfy mattress, or if they were just contemplating jumping up onto the couch and killing me. I finally decided that I was obviously still asleep, closed my eyes and rolled over.

More later,

nico

(By the way, I did not spend the past week biting the heads off of chocolate Easter Bunnies, but it did sound good, didn't it?)

<It kept him out of hair and other stories::Not depressed, poor memory, dancing and films with very poor memory>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007