newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Fri 04/27/01

<prior or next>

CONFESSIONS OF AN adult TV WATCHER.

Five Embarrassing things about me and TV (and some other stuff to):

1. John and I do not have cable. We do not have a satellite dish either. All we have is a regular ol' TV with a funky antenna that doesn't always like channel two. We talk about getting something every once in a while, but we have never actually done anything about it.

So when people talk about how great a show "_______" is, I just nod my head in agreement. Then I get ready for the incredulous stare when I let 'em know that I have never seen the show and even worse I don't have cable. This shouldn't be embarrassing, but considering the way people react when they find out I'm cable free, it somehow is.

2. I watch the Creek. Yup, Dawsons Creek. Actually, almost watch may be a more accurate description. I tend to remember the hour that the show is on, but I rarely remember what night it's on. If I do manage to come across it, I don't bother to watch it half of the time. If I do watch it, I end up getting bored with it fairly quickly and switching stations.

My problem with the program is that while I sort of like the "oh woe is me, I'm gay and angsty" teen boy, his neurotic mess of a sister and the "I'm not a druggie slut girl anymore, really I'm not!" girl, I can't stand Dawson. The character just bugs in a huge way. I'm not overly fond of Pacey girl or Joey boy either, or is it Pacey boy and Joey girl? (I can never keep the names straight on this show). Whatever the names, they are just annoying.

Considering that I hate the main characters, forget when it airs and manage to watch maybe fifteen minutes of it when do remember that it is on, stating that I watch the show may be a bit of an overstatement.

3. I've watched really lame shows just 'cause one of the actors was really cute. I'm not entirely sure if this is an embarrassing confession, or just an admission that I'm a man. I maybe looking at different bodies than the majority of the male television watching population out there, but I'm sure this is exactly the same reason why lame T&A shows manage to survive. Regardless of what is being looking at, sometimes a guy is just a guy, ruled by his, uh, libido.

4. I willingly watch Star Trek. When I feel like turning my brain off it that is. So yes, I am a geek. Am I a Trekkie/trekker/whatever it's called? Well, let's just say that I've never dressed up in a uniform, put on pointy ears or ever thought of the Star Trek franchise as anything more than a franchise. I do probably know more about the various shows than a normal person should though.

Will I watch the finale for Voyager? Probably. Will I ever see the scene I want to see where Seven and Janeway finally declare their love for each other and lock lips? Nope. As much fun as that would be, I know it ain't going to happen.

5. I don't have the TV on all the time. Another thing that shouldn't be embarrassing, but from conversations I've had with coworkers, it would seem that it is strange not to have the TV on only to ignore it. Something about having noise in the background. I always thought that's what music was for.

~~~~~~~

Wednesday morning, I had a whine session phone conversation with Kristen, when out of the blue she told me that I was an adult. Not really that strange a thing to tell a thirty-three year old, but unexpected.

Wednesday evening, I had dinner at my folks after work. During the meal, my Mother informed me that I was an adult. An odd thing to say considering that we were talking about the family dog, but OK, whatever.

Later that night, I came home to some E-mail from Drew Yes, he told me I was adult as well. Actually, I think his exact words were grown-up, same difference. We had been having a rather silly conversation where I had been attempting to prove how juvenile I was, so of the three different conversations, his proclamation of my status as adult wasn't that odd a thing to say.

So... apparently I'm an adult.

joy. (um, that's sarcasm)

~~~~~~~

I'm not as mopey as I was last Friday, but I ain't exactly Mr. happy go lucky these days either. I've been listening to old Laurie Anderson and very loud punk, so whatever mood that would make me, that's the mood I'm in.

~~~~~~~

I haven't been very good about announcing/ listing changes to the site. So here is quick list of what has been going on the past few weeks:

-I've added a couple of more useless adjectives to the first version of my useless Bio.

-The color scheme has been changed from mean green to moody blue.

-After two requests for one, I've added a guest book whatsits. So go have at it.

-I've a joined another webring. Go hit some random buttons, that's always fun. Well, except for when it's scary.

-I've also added a links page. It's already out of date. Look at it anyway.

More later,

nico

<Not depressed, Poor memory, Dancing and films with very poor memory::Lady Penelope's car rocks! >

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007