newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Mon 08/06/01

<prior or next>

This is another "not an entry about my Vacation" entry

aka: Nico ain't making any more promises 'bout when he will post stuff, 'cause he ain't fulfilling 'em




One of my uncles died last week. My tio was a heavy smoker and has been sick off and on for a while. His death was not a surprise. I haven't seen him in person for nearly 15 years and I'm feeling a little guilty that I am not more saddened or disheartened about his death. I have however, been worried about my mother. Tio Lico was her eldest brother and he was always one of the strong ones of the family. I do feel sad because of the death, but...

Part of the week was spent at the airport and dealing with relatives on the phone. I have left all that off of the journal, because I don't feel like writing about it in any detail, other than to merely mention that it had occurred and has been on my mind.

Besides the events involving my tio, I am not really sure that I feel like writing about anything that has been happening lately.

I won't mention the second surprise birthday party that I attended in the past three weeks, or how it was for Laurie's fortieth birthday, or how it was held in her sisters house in Glendora, or how Laurie's teenage nephew had decided that joke was in order for the day, so he "made" his mom buy happy 50th birthday paper napkins.

I don't feel like writing about a conversation I had with Laurie's sister, where she mentioned that living so close to the Angeles Forest has meant fire scares every summer and finding occasional foxes, coyotes, rabbits, deer and once even a bear strolling down down their street. If I had written about this, I am sure that I would have refrained from from making the obligatory "bears, oh my" joke.

However, I would have mentioned that Letty and Rickie were at the party as well and that Rickie actually walked! Which would have meant that I would have had to have shared that she was in a terrible automobile accident two years ago and that no one was sure if she would ever walk again. Rickie knew though. She has displayed an amazing positive attitude over the past couple of years and I consider myself lucky to have a friend who is so filled with a sheer joy of life that even an event that bad couldn't keep her down. I would have spent a while going over how happy I am for her.

I also don't feel like sharing details of the third surprise birthday party that I have been to in the past three weeks, or how it was for Susan's 35th birthday, or how it was in Redondo Beach, or how the 105 freeway was shut down for some reason, or how the afternoon traffic was horrible because of this. I don't feel like thinking up witty quips or jokes about the conversations that evening and how they covered everything from psychics to celebrity sex to how breast milk doesn't smell bad.

I won't write about how John threw a queer movie night and invited several of his friends. I don't feel like writing about how some of them thought that Helen Shaver was too ugly for Patricia Charbonneau in Desert Hearts. If I had written about that, I would have had to have mentioned that it was a young crowd there that night and that they didn't know any better.

I don't feel like going into that I didn't go to Latin Pride this year and how that meant that I have missed every local gay pride event this year or that I don't really care that much.

I don't even feel like talking about how John and I saw Ghost World, or that I enjoyed it and he didn't.

I guess that is a lot to not talk about. Whatever.

~~~~~~~

All jokes aside, work and life have been very busy and I have generally been too tuckered out to work on this site, or to write out more of my vacation stories. Hence the second "aka" title. The vacation entries will get posted, just please bear with me and my tired mood for a while longer.

gracias.




More later

nico

<Chicken?::Food that goes crunch>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007