newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Tue 01/29/2002

<prior or next>

Snobs, Homosexualists and Transsexual Streets




[This is the latest in my series of �I meant to post this yesterday� entries. No reason why, other than after I wrote the first two paragraphs, I lost all interest in working on it. Strange that. Anyhow, here�s the entry and here�s hoping it doesn�t bore you all to tears -nico ]


It has been raining off and on. A cold, dark sort of rain. So cold and dark that there was hail when I left work today. Not the best of weather, but needed. While parts of the country are dealing with snow, parts of Southern California are on fire alert. Hopefully, the cold and wet will help with that.

On the other hand, I�m not sure that the weather has been helping my mood. I�ve decided to blame my vague sense of angst and paranoia on the rain. I don�t know the real reason why, but I�ve felt as if there was something wrong in my life. Almost a fear. It has been sitting at the back of mind with my other irrational thoughts and it has been annoying.

Other than my mental oddness, this has been a fairly uneventful week.

Work has been work. A bit busier than usual and with the added responsibilities of training folks who are coming through the office, so there is even less time to get all my normal tasks accomplished.

The joys of employment.

Then again, it was the employment that paid for assorted impulse shopping this weekend. I spent Saturday (01/26/02) being consumer boy and purchased several things I have no need for.

Among my more useless purchases where two discounted action figures. Yup, toys. I bought a smirking John Constantine (from the hellblazer comic book) and an angry Kaneda (from the Akira movie). Mr. Constantine is now �hanging� with the cast of Buffy, while Kaneda seems to be getting extra friendly with Morpheus (from the Matrix).

Aside from the toys, I also bought some sale dvds. The Seventh Seal, proving I�m a snob; Parting Glances, proving that not only am I gay, I�m a genXer as well; and one of the newer Disneyphile cartoon collections, further proof that I�m a big ol� homosexualist.

It additionally proves that I�m a big ol� nerd. Which was also proven Sunday (01/27/02) when I decided that I really needed to organize the downstairs hall closet. The cleaning part doesn�t make me a nerd, but the fact that I store my comic boxes in that closet does. Organizing the closet meant organizing my comics. Which so far has been an impossible task. Every time I try to get my comics into order, I end up spending more time reading than working.

This time was no different. I wasted time reacquainting myself with bizarre one shot comics dealing with an All-American, patriotic cannibal family (The Eaters). I also reread various issues of various series I have collected over the years.

Stories about anarchist terrorist cells, foul mouthed British future Buddhas, and transgendered witches (The Invisibles). An unfinished British black and white comic about a lone figure fighting for Anarchy transfigured into a finished American color comic about a lone figure fighting for anarchy (V for Vendetta). Collected works of fiction and non, personal and non, all dealing with various aspects of queer life and non (Gay comics).

I also flipped through some issues of a series devoted to strangeness for the sake of strangeness (Doom Patrol). I glanced through a story which involved �the brotherhood of dada� unleashing a painting which then eats Paris.

I should go back and find some of the issues which have one of my all time favorite comic book characters, Danny the Street. A sentient, transvestite, street. A street that decorates/dresses �his� rough and tumble macho gun and hardware storefronts with lace curtains, velvet, and doilies.

From what I can remember, by the time I stopped collecting the book (and right before it was canceled), the then writer was doing even funkier things touching on issues of gender and sexual identity.

It was not exactly a normal comic book.

Probably why it wasn�t that popular and probably why it was canceled all those years ago.

About a third of my comic book collection is still spread out over the floor of the �extra room� downstairs. A task I probably should be dealing with instead of this. The room also happens to double as John�s photography studio, and as a friend of a friend has asked to model for John later this week, they probably need the mess cleaned up.

oh well.



more later,

nico



Music:
A random Frank Sinatra collection



Want:
A good, almost too rough back rub.



<<Nico the weirdo::::cheaper by the half-dozen>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007