newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Tue 04/23/2002

<prior or next>

Questionable toys




Does it mean anything that my recurring dream of being shot in the arm by an angry constituent during a really bad day at work has been replaced by a recurring dream that some random stranger stabs me in the chest with a knife as I walk down the street?

Thought not.

Here�s the entry proper:


Far too short shorts with suspenders and braless:
Thanks to the wonders of satellite TV, I am on the verge of becoming obsessed with both ChangingRooms and Ground Force. A British home decorating show and Gardening program which I guess makes me a big ol' Anglophile homosexual. Ehh, there are worse things to be.

I got hooked on changing rooms after watching an episode where two arrogant artist, presumably dyke women spend the entire half hour program fighting with their interior designer/decorator. When they weren't insulting the decorator's sense of taste, they were accusing her of pocketing money. Very fun.

As amusing as that show is, I think I like Ground Force even more. Probably because it obviously not an American TV program. I'm not sure if there is an American version or not, but if there was, I'm sure that the crew would be more attractive, dress better, and wouldn't bicker as much.

An American version would probably not be as interesting precisely because of these reasons.


Chicken drumstick shaped processed vegetable protein and flakey kids:
John and I went to a ChrisX party last Thursday (04/11/02). It was just a spur of the moment get together, so no costumes, no wica, just friends & food & drink. It was however, predominately teachers, so I spent most of the night listening to how vouchers suck, something or another testing sucks, and how scripts suck worse of all. As for what all that means, go ask a teacher.


Courteous, obviously gay employees and dead trends:
Through boring and complicated reasons involving a friend, a charity, and donated money, John has had a couple of free tickets for dizzyland sitting in the back of the desk for nearly a year now. They expire next month, so we went out and used �em. Which is a long and boring way of saying that we were dizzyfied last friday (04/12/02).

I know people who are horrified by all things disney for the usual evilcorp reasons. While I comprehend the cultural imperialism arguments, that pesky gay gene of mine makes me predisposed towards liking their products. They may be soulless, but they make cute stuff. I decided to ignore all this and just enjoy a day in an artificial world.

It has been years and years and years since I have been to dizzyland. Since that time they�ve built California adventure (another park), a huge parking structure (HUGE), downtowndizzy (an outdoor shopping mall), and have changed several of the streets around and in the parks which meant that I no longer knew an easy way in and out of there.

Aside from all the unfamiliarity to the exterior of the park, the interior was remarkably the same, even though it was also remodeled and slightly different. A situation which is neither contradictory nor all that surprising since part of the idea of the park is to be comforting and familiar.

It was a very nice day for comforting and familiar, neither too warm nor cold. It was also not too crowded, which combined with the fastpass thing (getting appointments for rides so you only have to stand in a short line), made for an enjoyable day.

It was the height of rush hour when we left the park, so we spent some time wandering around downtowndizzy. Despite a somewhat boring selection of stores, it was pleasant enough. Although, maybe a bit redundant since there are two other huge, outdoor, yet oddly claustrophobic, prison like, open air, malls with poor parking just a short drive away (the spectrum, a psuedo-Morocan fake bazaar; and the block, an exercise in media overexposure) .

Although to be fair, since I parked in the area for dizzyland, I don�t know how easy or hard it would be to find parking for the sole purpose of visiting the mall, but since it�s essentially it�s just yuppie stores that are already everywhere else, why would anyone be going there, unless you happen to be wasting time so that traffic can die down as we were, or unless you happen to have a friend performing at the hard rock there, as just might be happening sometime in the near future, assuming I didn�t just jinx her or something by mentioning this in this overly long excuse for a run-on sentencee.

Oh, by the way, for the more fashion conscious of you out there, middle aged, yuppie dads of young kids were walking around the mall in 'spensive fake bowling shoes. Therefore, that particular shoe trend is officially dead.


Toys:
At sea world I bought a vibrating, plush, manatee doll.

I bought myself a toy from dizzyland as well. I got a small pirates of the Caribbean toy. It�s one of the boats that the guests ride in. Riding this particular boat are a pirate captain and goofy. The pirate is waving a mug of ale around, and he and goofy have elected to ignore the back seat and instead ride together in the front. They, um, look rather friendly.


Thanks and more thanks:
This site was listed as a site of the day over at bluway.com, which resulted in a lot more traffic than usual, so I guess I should thank them. Thanks. Although, what does it means that they decided to link to an entry where I ramble on and on about straight drag queens? Other than that someone over there liked the title that is. Anyway, if any of you folks came from that link and have decided to stick around, my thanks to you as well.

Things are fairly simple here at almostthereLand. I try to get a new entry up on a roughly weekly basis. Generally Monday or Tuesday night my time. So invariably something newish should be up by midweek. If you�d like a more timely notice, I�d suggest joining the notify list. The notify people occasionally get an extra juicy bit that doesn�t make it into the journal proper, so that might make it worth while, or not.

As for everyone else who have been reading for a while, a warm smoochilicious thanks to you all for hanging in there with me.

(Um, I have no idea what smoochilicious means, but let�s just assume it�s a good thing.)


more later,

nico



Music:
assorted random dance compilations with assorted random combinations of the words essential, trance, global, hits, and electronica in the titles


Want:
some bbb


Elsewhere:
nancy


<<Boys who go for boys::::Assorted subjects in search of a theme>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007