newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Tue 09/17/2002

<prior or next>

The secret to successful long term relationships and other nonsense



Work sucks and I do to. Instead of expanding on those memorable topics, here are some more catch up stuff from the past few weeks:


he's not gay, he's just English:
The latest play at the Geffen Playhouse is Under the Blue sky by David Eldridge. According to the publicity, it is an "important" piece by an "important" young writer who takes a daring look at love and sex among British academics. Which all means that the play is three acts full of screwed up, het, British public school teachers, lusting/longing/loving and not lusting/longing/loving each other. Other folks in our group liked it better than I did, not that thought it was bad, it was just that I never did really care what happened one way or another to the characters.

Continuing my frequent comments that Los Angeles productions always have to have television folks, this time 'round the play had Willie Garson (sex and the city), John Carrol Lynch (Drew Carry), and Sharon lawrence (NYPD Blue) among others. Unlike a certain production last year, this time accents remained constant.

The "not gay, just English" bit comes from one of the acts where a man explains to a woman that he's not sure of his emotions for her because he's confused. From the noise of people leaving the theater afterwards, I wasn't the only one who initially thought that confused was going to be a euphemism for gay, but no, confused just meant confused, and screwed up, and English.


deep fried oyster surprise:
During a rambly lunch conversation at work, the topic turned to oysters. How good they are, how nasty they are, is it worth the potential health risks, and such. During the conversation, I admitted to never having eaten live oysters, but liking fried oysters. As long as I didn't have to look at what I was eating that is.

This prompted workShela to share a tale of how when they were young, she and her brothers would pester their parents to eat at a local Chinese restaurant that served fried oysters. The kids would bite 'em in half and wave the oysters at each other yelling "surprise!" as green/grey stuff would ooze out of the batter.

The image of a bunch of Filipino kids taunting each other with deep fried oyster surprise made me smile.

The smile did not last for long, since the topic then turned to offal.


�she�s a betty crocker dominatrix...�
Something said during a conversation that I have no idea how to even begin to describe, so I won�t.


strangely, there were only two sarongs:
John and I were at another pool party last week. No overly competitive sports dykes racing each other in the pool this time though. This party was an all gay boy extravaganza.

Well, extravaganza is probably overdoing it. An all male, tacky Hawaiian, potluck, pool party would be a better description.

I didn�t join in the splashing around the pool bit. Instead I sat around talking to folks, eating my way through the huge waves of food that kept arriving. Our food contribution was �stuff on skewers.� Stuff being baked tofu, grilled peppers & mushrooms, and little tomatoes all doused in a garlicky teriyaki sauce. We used skewers assuming it work work with the tacky theme and they did kinda. It tasted a lot better than I am making it out to be.

I�m finding that the older I get, the more out of place I feel when I�m in all gay male situations. Not sure why. I�ve never bothered to think it out. I didn�t feel out of place at this party though. Possibly because even though it did have the all gay boy thing happening, there was variety to the guests. Instead of a same tan, same age, might as well be the same person crowd, these folks covered a wide range of some of the variety our community has to offer. It was a fun time.


fungus:
We tried out a newish Mexican restaurant in Alhambra the other week. The food was good, including our goat cheese and huitlacoche quesadea. The menu described huitlacoche as corn truffle, which I guess is a fancy name for corn smut. Whatever you call it, it is a fungus which causes the corn kernels to swell and turn grey/black. Depending on which side of the U.S./Mexican border your on, corn truffle is either a disease you spray your crop to prevent, or a tasty delicacy.

According to my mother, John and I were ripped off since she could have made us our meal for free. My mom's one of those folks who believe that unless it's extremely cheap, or something you can't make, there's no point in eating out.

Given a chance, I could probably recreate the meal, but I'm more of the mind of why bother when someone else can do it for you?


big hair:
Keeping up my average of going out dancing barely once a year, Kristen and I managed to hit the suite down in Long Beach this past weekend. There was supposed to have been a group of us, but for one reason or another, it didn't quite pan out that way.

So the two of us made do dancing to dopey songs, which seemed to be the exact same dopey songs in the exact same order as the songs we danced to when we were there last year. Or maybe I just my imagination.

One of the women on the dance floor had big ol' dancing hair. She would gyrate and sway, and her hair would whip around everywhere she wasn�t. Luckily, no one lost an eye.


where I found out the scary statistic that the average wallmart customer shops shops there three times a week:
The other play that John and I saw was Nickel and Dimed by Joan Holden, which was based on Barbara Ehrenreich�s book Nickel and Dimed: On (not) Getting by in America. In both works, a woman discusses her attempts to survive for a month on minimum wage at three different locations around the country. Among her jobs are waitress, house keeper, and �Mallmart� peon. Despite her efforts, she can barely keep her head above he preverbal waters and ends up among the working homeless. All while not technically meeting the standards for being poor.

Obviously a "message piece." So much so that the author felt the need to throw in attempts at seeing the �other side� of the issue, so as to not loose/alienate the audience.

It�s still in previews, and I got the feeling it was still in the tweaking process, so it may not be exactly the same when it officially opens. Even so, I liked it better than the screwed up British teachers


the secret to successful long term relationships:
Over the past few weeks I�ve meet three gay male couples in long term relationships (all 11+years). In all of the couples (John and myself included), one of the men hates getting massages, while the other loves them.

Mere coincidence?


spicy
I was eating a cream cheese dessert thing at the monthly Pasadena area potluck when someone mentioned that it was too hot (spicy) for him. I turned and said a bit louder than I intended, �This is hot?�

Several folks looked at me in disbelief. Apparently I failed to realize that the sweet dessert cream cheese thing was actually a chipotle chile cream cheese appetizer thing. A �very spicy� one at that.

Not the first and more than likely not the last time I unintentionally call a room of people wusses.

When I wasn�t busy accidentally insulting other folks palates, I was listening to conversations covering ineffectual botox, unwilling abstinence, urban legends, inevitable infidelity, and lost opportunities. Considering the potluck was on September 11, certain other topics were also brought up and discussed at length that night.

The only other thing of note was that I mock threatened physical violence when a certain friend of mine moaned that he was old now that he was 33.

Was I overreacting? Maybe. But, aside from some issues I already touched on a few entries ago, there�s also the fact that my 35th birthday is coming up fast. Saturday the 21st in fact.

I think I�m going to put up another game, except that assuming a wish list or something, there may be an actual (cheap) prize for the winner this time.

I�m not to sure about the details yet, but look for it next entry.


more later,

nico



Music:
nothing at the moment

Want:
A massage �-)

Elsewhere:
No link this time, instead a question: Who should I add on when I redo the links page?



<<heterosexual hair::::the game of me>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007