newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


07/10/2006

<prior or next>

Miami

Miami


(A preface to these vacation stories could be that John and I went on a Caribbean cruise/vacation with extended family and in-laws.)

Anyway, after a number of missteps involving our hotel, the Miami locals decided that we out of towners had to see !MIAMI!, which meant dinner at Gloria Estephan�s restaurant (I�ve forgotten the name) in South Beach.

Barely a minute after leaving the hotel for the night, it started raining, and by time we finally realized that we had driven by the place, torrents of rain was coming down in biblical proportions. In the half -block I ran from the car to the restaurant, I was soaked.

I would have spent much of the night wet and cold (air conditioning was set a tad high) except that my brother-in-law�s wife�s mother* got very Latina mother on the wettest of us, which is how I ended up standing outside the women�s restroom, while she stood in the doorway with a hairdryer in hand, extension cord pulled to the fullest, using it to dry me off. From the laughs and smiles, I think some of the customers thought we were part of the entertainment.

Though I�ve had better Cuban food, the food was good enough, and it�s not everyday I get to eat and drink amongst the �attractive crowd� under the watchful gaze of overly large photos of Gloria Estephan.

By the time we left to walk our meal off, it had stopped raining and the temperature had dropped to pleasantly warm. It was a beautiful night, with occasional sharp flashes of lightning in the distance over the water.


*I meant it when I wrote we were traveling with extended family.

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007