newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


11/27/2006

<prior or next>

No Bold, No Italic, or some recent plays y movies


With no attempt at a unifying narrative:

Light of the Piazza:
It was OK, neither bad nor really good. Maybe I was too tired (which I was), or I wasn�t in the mood to sympathize with a hetero love story (which is also true more or less), but while the cast was talented, and some of the songs were enjoyable, I really wasn�t getting why it was worth all the Tony�s it won.


Flushed Away:
Fun. Cute. I enjoyed it, despite it being about an effete anthropomorphic animal taken out of his home element (sissified high faluting �culture�) and thrown into the �real world,� where he learns to be a �real� man (and presumably marry and have lots of little baby rats like god intended)�um, actually I did like it�it was really good.


Wishful Drinking:
A life reminiscing kind of play thing by Carrie Fisher, that was fine for what it was, a show of stories n� anecdotes punctuated by a couple of songs.

When I told my friend K that I was going to see the thing, she wondered if Ms. Fisher would address the rumors of her being bi. The answer was no, at least not exactly. The closest she came to that was to relate that like her mother, she was a really bad heterosexual.


Happy Feet:
Nice computer graphics. Cute to the point of being cloying. Didn�t like it.

I�m not sure what my problem with the thing was, the overly simplistic environmental message? The long length? Throwing in photo-realistic humans, thus making all the other animals seem off? The decision to keep the protagonist from fully growing up (to keep him visually easily identifiable or because being an adult is bad)? The idea of a penguin colony being ruled by right wing pseudo-Christian Scottish Jews?

Actually, I think the main reason it bugged me was because it actually made me say the sentence �It needed more Robin Williams� which is a terrible thing to say about any movie.


Thanksgiving:
Far too much food was eaten. No surprise there.


For your consideration:
While not as terrible as some folks have made it out to be, it was unfortunately largely boring. It had occasional moments and lines, but not enough to make the thing worth more than a �meh, it�s a movie�.

Trailers:
Harry Potter and to a lesser extent Charlotte�s Web were the only thing that interested kids in the audience. Everything else, from Christmas decorating feuds to Home Alone at an airport left them bored.

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007