newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


06/11/2007

<prior or next>

STuff:

Christopher Street West, or L.A. Pride as it�s usually known as was this past weekend. I didn�t go, which is perhaps not a big surprise considering I haven�t bothered going in�what, at least ten or eleven years? Inconsistently attending Long Beach Pride seems to more than satisfy my �prideful� needs. Instead of hanging out with half nekked bois n� grls, I was at work, and when I wasn�t there, I was out in the garden, clearing brush and trying to create (on a very small scale) a plant wall (the kind that have been popping up in garden and architecture magazine). If it works, it�ll be cool, if not, well, the garden is sort of odd anyway, one more strange element won�t hurt.

Aside from that, there�s a month or so worth of stuff I haven�t bothered to, and won�t write about, though there were a few plays I might as well mention, despite the fact that at least one of them has already ended its run:

Mr. Punch
If I were say a real reviewer assigned to write about Mr. Punch the pull quote would have been �Thank god I�m not English.�

Which is not to say that there is something wrong per say with being English, I am an admitted Anglophile after all, it�s just that when the play was over, I wasn�t thinking that memories are a dark and confusing thing as much as I was wondering just how between the teletubbies and murderous puppets, anybody actually survives a British childhood. I had a reverse reaction of sorts to the graphic novel the play was based on. Despite being a big Gaiman fan, I don�t own the book. Mainly because the first I leafed through it, I was left with the impression that I�d probably understand it a lot more if I were English and had the Punch & Judy show as part of my cultural heritage. Of course, now I�m definitely glad that ain�t the case.

Anyway, the play was interesting, and well done, if perhaps overly intentionally difficult, with puppets, masks, video, song, fourth wall breaking, and the like.

I saw it was my friend K and considering our sense of humor it may not be surprising that in addition to our usual catching up on each other�s lives type talk, we also played �How many nonwhite folks will there be here tonight,� he answer being roughly 10 or so out of an audience of 60-something folks.

YellowFace
At the Mark Taper there was Yellowface, a somewhat comedic look at race, society, and theater. It was good, though I was distracted a bit by a smelly guy sitting near John and me. You�d think that basic hygiene wouldn�t be too much to ask for with the theater going public, but considering the number of times this has happened, it seems that it is.

Gershwin Alone
The latest thing we�ve seen was Gershwin Alone, a one man piece/celebration of Gershwin�s life and work. Some of the folks I saw it with thought it was exceptional, while others thought it was adequate summer �fluff.� My opinion was more on the it�s good side. The annoying audience story for this play involved the restless �lets leave now and beat the crowd� man who misanticipated the end of the play a couple of times and a plastic rustling woman sitting behind me. Every time I almost got to the point were I could ignore that noise she was making, she�d learn over to the man and comment about the play, such as mentioning that it was sad Gershwin died, or misidentifying Rhapsody in Blue as An American in Paris.

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007