newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Mon 11/06/00

<prior or next>

I had the day off which is good, because I think I might be getting sick. I started sneezing this afternoon, which has me a little worried. John seems to have gotten over his cold, but he wasn�t sneezing, just coughing, so I don�t think I've caught it from him. Anyway, the weekend:

Sat 11/04/00 was an ok day. Kristen came over and we did �stuff.� We first went to a Japanese bookstore in Little Tokyo to look for some manga and anime books. Well, she looked for �em, I looked at a few, but I mainly spent time looking at art books and funky illustrated cookbooks. Afterwards we had lunch at a noodle joint near the bookstore. Kristen told me that she got and watched the third season of Utena and the movie version as well. Apparently the cartoon gets a lot more �adult� in the later episodes. We're going to have to schedule another anime night.

After lunch, we drove up into Pasadena to catch a movie at Hastings Ranch. We ended up seeing an afternoon showing of Bedazzled. It was an ok movie, well actually it was just a flick. It was funny for the most part, but it did seem to missing any soul (unintended pun I guess). What I mean to say is that while it wasn�t bad per say, it did seem a bit too slick and formula. I saw the original version ages and ages ago late one Saturday night on PBS when I was a teenager. I really don�t remember much of it other than the nun scenes, but I do remember enjoying it a lot more than this version. Kristen�s one sentence review was that it needed a lot more Elizabeth Hurghly. As cute as I think Brenden Fraiser is, I think Kristen had a good point. Ms. Hurghly seemed to be enjoying herself playing the devil, while he seemed kinda plastic. So I guess my review of the flick is that it�s worth a rental, maybe a matinee.

I spent Saturday night online searching around for yet another journal to read and perhaps follow. What I found was a lot of teen anguish. I hated being a teenager and I wasn�t really in the mood to reminisce. My early twenties were fun, if kinda rocky emotionally and my mid and late twenties were pleasant enough if not overly exciting. I think I'm enjoying my thirties best of all so far. How�s that for random topic switching/rambling. Anyway, I didn�t really find anything new, but I did did manage to catch up on some archives of Journals I have been following. One of these days I�ll get organized enough to put together a ubiquitous links page.

Sun 11/05/00 went by rather quickly. John�s parents came up with one of the nephews and we all went to the Flea Market at PCC (Pasadena City College). Normally I would head straight over to the plant guy and buy something before all the good plants were gone, but since I was sure that lunch would be part of the plan for today, I decided that I didn�t want to deal with leaving something living in the car. So instead we walked about at a fairly leisurely pace, and John�s dad added to his Pez collection. As usual the crowd was something like 30% gay. Lots of male couples and groups of friends walking around searching for finds an scores, and then there was us, just another mixed race gay couple walking around with a kid and the in-laws. Just shows how large the Queer population is in and around Pasadena.

Ty started the day out fine, but decided to have a crying fit over some �spensive vintage army men that we were not buying for him. Not a full on tantrum, but still very trying. He was in a strange grumpy �I'm three almost four years old and I never get what I want � mood after he stopped crying, which John�s mom blamed on some cold medicine she had given him early that morning. Pero dios, he was being a total pill. His mood I could normally deal with, but later in the day I started getting the beginnings of a hunger headache and well, to say the least I was not a happy camper.

Young Ty�s gun fixation was also bothering me a lot today. I�ve been waiting two years now for it to end, but everything that ends up in his hands still manages to turn into a �gun� which he constantly shoots at imaginary monsters. At least he doesn�t �shoot� people anymore. I know that in our culture it�s an accepted little boy phase, but being the nice little liberal that I am, it totally bugs the sh*t outta me.

Lunch was at The Good Earth up in Hastings Ranch. I rarely go up there anymore, now all of a sudden, I'm there twice in two days. Thinking about it now, maybe Tyler�s behavior was drug related. He barely ate any of his food and he normally eats like a horse, even when sick.

By the time we got back home it was almost three and I was exhausted. My original plan had been to get some gardening done after the flea market, but all I ended up doing was taking a nap.

Today I did manage to get some work done out back. I�ve continued clearing and leveling under the left walnut and I also started leveling out the jamboree (as to why I call a clearing in the back yard the jamboree, it�s a long story I'll tell another time). I stopped working when I started a sneezing fit. As I wrote earlier, I'm worried I'm getting sick. I ended up taking yet another nap and then rewatching Relax...It�s just Sex. It was a movie that I had intended to see in the theaters but never got around to. John bought the dvd and this is the fourth or fifth time I've watched it. I guess you could say I like it.

Jet is being extremely annoying right now. He�s wandering around the house meowing at the top of his lungs, either complaining that he�s being ignored or that he�s hungry. The later probably, it�s almost feeding time. Of course being Jet, he�s just gonna snub his special vet food when John or I do end up feeding him. His sister Babe hates the stuff as well, but at least she doesn�t go around demanding to be fed.

Well, I better close this off now to deal with cat food.


more later, nico

<<<antes---despues>>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007