newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Fri 11/03/00

<prior or next>

This has been a week of work. Get up (late), go to work (late), arrive at work (again late), leave work (even later-sensing a horrible trend here?), fight traffic going home, eat, watch a lame T.V. show, then head to bed (latest of all). None of the days this work week was really exceptional except for Thursday (11/02/00). Our clerc WorkMaria was honored as one of the finalists for employee of the year. So we all got to fork over 25 bucks for lunch at a steak place in Montery Park.

The function went on for far too long, but it did get me out of the office for a couple of hours. I don�t really eat beef, so I had the privilege of having a very small portion of pasta for my 25 dollars. At least I was served my lunch while the other people at the table were still eating. A few years ago at an educational symposium I attended, everyone who had ordered a vegie lunch ended up getting served lukewarm lasagna after everyone else had already been served desert and ten minutes before the afternoon sessions were supposed to start. The things I suffer through just �cause I don�t like dead cow.

After I got home that day, I started to watch Friends, then ended up turning it off. I used to enjoy the show, but these past couple seasons, have just been boring. Lots of things bug about the show now. One is that I used to be a little younger than the characters, now I�m something like three years older than they are. At least the writers finally seem to be admitting that the actors aren�t in their twenties anymore. Actually, the keep �em young deal isn�t as annoying as the not so subtle �whitewashing� the show seems to suffer from. I used to be able to ignore the fact that there was barely anyone of color on the show, but it�s hard to ignore these days. Comedians make jokes about how you only see white folk on the show and unfortunately it�s true. The people responsible for casting don�t even seem to be casting any people of color for the extras who just mill about the back of the sets acting as typical New Yorkers. I�ve never been to New York, but somehow I get the the impression that the people out there aren�t all pale, young, yuppie Anglos. I�ve read articles where producers and network executives defend these kind of casting decisions by stating that dramas reflect reality in that people work in mixed race environments, but that sitcoms also reflect reality in that most people don�t interact that much with people of other races on a personal level. If that statement is true, this country is in a sad state, but all I can say for certain is that it doesn�t reflect my life and it makes for boring television.

Enough soap boxing. I had today off so I spent a large part of it working out in the back yard. I got a lot prep work done for some eventual landscaping under the left walnut and did a lot of cleaning up. The neighbors seemed to have picked all of their pomengranites, so that tree is just looking kinda dead now. Last time I spoke with Kristin, she mentioned that she she had seen some of the Rudolph action figures that I�m after at the Virgin Megastore in Vegas (she�s in a lots�a business travel section of her career), so I decided to hit the Burbank Virgin. I was in the mood to buy something, so of course they didn�t have the figures and nothing else seemed to be calling out �buy me.��

Bad thing happing now is that John came home feeling like he�s getting sick. Hopefully he feels better tomorrow.

In an electronica mood so this was written to the sounds of Orbital�s The middle of Nowhere.

more later, nico

<<<antes---despues>>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007