newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Sun 10/29/00

<prior or next>

This weekend went by kinda fast, but I did get to do some fun things. I finished watching the Utena dvd's that Kristen lent me. I've even gone back and rewatched some of the episodes. It's strange, very artsy, strange, quite funny and mainly strange. The quality is really good and I'm now an Utena fan. Despite being being a kids program, it's actually kinda sophisticated. The semi-lesbian back story helped keep it interesting. I'm calling it semi 'cause in one of the episodes, Utena says something to the effect that "Hey, I may dress in Boys clothes and I'm great at sports and all the girls in school have crushes on me, but otherwise, I'm just a normal girl who wants a boyfriend not another girl." Yeah right. Although, she and Anthy (her bride/fiancee) do seem to spend a lot of time staring into each others eyes in the later episodes.

I've also read the issue of Rose that I bought the other day. The Charles Vess art is beautiful. It's interesting seeing the older characters of Bone when they were young and so far my favorite characters are Rose's hunting dogs. Well, on to specifics of the weekend:

Sat 10/28/00 was largely a lazy day. I did a little work in the back yard, but not that much. I spent more time indoors watching theUtena dvd's than doing anything useful. John and I did run a quick errand over to Stats (a holiday/crafts store) to pick up some things for John's costume. Yep, we actually went out.

We drove down to Long Beach to Chris C's patented Dead Celebrities party. I went as the dead bitter divorced Desi Arnez (hence the 50's style shirt I bought the other day) and John went as the person who died in the last Harry Potter book (I won't say who just in case someone who actually cares actually reads this). John didn't find a suitable wizards/witch robe, but he did make a homemade "snitch" which followed him around. Looked pretty good. The few kids in attendance figured out who John was fairly quick. Most of the adults took a lot longer. Chris C. was dressed as Madeline Kahn dressed as Marlene Detric. Also in attendance were a couple of "historically accurate" pirates, a dead Obi Wan, Babe Ruth, several dead T.V. celebrities and a whole bunch of other people pushing the limits of good taste.

Actually, the good taste factor was fairly high this year, since no one too famous just died. The other years we've gone to this shindig, there have been multiple Sherry Lewis's, dueling Sheriffs' Blocks and other really bad taste costumes. I have to admit my dead Desi was really tame compared to my outfit last year.

The past three years John had managed to win best costume, but he lost to a Granny from the Beverly Hill Billies this year. He jokingly blamed the loss on the illiterate crowd. I won't share the gory details of the talent contest, but I did get a little flexible skeleton for losing it.

Sun 10/29/00 was wet. It started raining around noon and it hasn't stopped since. John and I went out and saw Best In Show at the Pasadena Payhouse 7. I had heard that the movie was subtle and funny. It was kinda subtle, but it was also really really funny. The story of how Parker Posey's character meet her husband almost had me rolling on the floor. John brought a Mac magazine from Vromens (bookstore obviously, and yup we're a Mac family), then we went home and watched some of the extra features on the Toy Story dvd's. Another day spent not doing anything too useful. Seems to be the theme of my life right now.

more later, nico.

<<<antes---despues>>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007