newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Tue 06/04/2002

<prior or next>




Tony, that is, my friend Vince died last week.

He was thirty-five.

He had been HIV positive for ten years.

He was one of my oldest friends.

And he is now gone.

Even now, after having had nearly a week to get used to this, I can barely believe that he is no longer here, and when I do manage to fully comprehend this, it hurts.

It feels like a part of my history is gone.

A part of my heart is gone.

John and I attended his funeral this morning. The church was filled with his relatives and friends. The priest was thoughtful and comforting. The services were calming. I no longer believe in the church in the way that I did when I was young, but the repetitiveness of the rituals of the mass were familiar and thus soothing.

I have been told that as long as he is remembered, Vince is not gone. I do know this is true, but I also know that I am troubled that there will be no experiences, no new memories.

I have been told that Vince is with God now. I do not know if this is true, but I hope that he has found peace, that he is happy.

During the service this morning, people cried. People wept. Some, were able to say goodbye.

I've cried, I've wept, but as of yet, I haven't been able to say goodbye.

Writing this may be a part of my doing so. I'm not sure.

All I do know is that I love you Vince.


nico



<<previous::::next>>


<prior or next>





� 2000-2007