newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Tue 07/02/2002

<prior or next>

The entry were I don�t mention having to pull over to the side of the road on the way home from work because of a &%$#^*@ high speed police chase -



The air conditioning wasn�t working correctly today at work. I spent most of the day smothered by oppressive heat. Work at the moment is far more tiring than it should be. Instead of enjoying things these days, it all feels a bit crushing.

I feel wrung out and dried up.
I feel burned out.
I need a break.
If things don�t change soon, namely my attitude, I�m going to need a new job. Anyone out there up for giving me a high paying job doing something or another?

Thought not. Luckily, it�s a long weekend, so at least I�ll getting some sort of break, and my attitude should improve by next week.

No energy for anything other than some rambly bits:


nico the dirty old man
I stopped at the South Pasadena farmers market on the way home from work last Thursday evening. Kids were running around underfoot and people were walking from booth to booth checking out produce.

I bought some slightly over ripe plouts from a very sweet looking young man of about 18 or so. I felt like an old lecher for looking at him, but I wasn�t the only one doing so. There were several women there who kept glancing at him as well. The boy has a long future of heart breaking to look forward to I think.


dull white, sunflower yellow, bright white, midnight blue, stucco white, sea foam green, powder blue, greyish white, and terra-cotta orange
The downstairs bathroom needs to be repainted. It has been near the top of John's and my vague list of things that we really need to get accomplished this year for some time now. For a reason I can no longer remember, I decided to start prep work the other day by stripping off the old paint. Never mind that we haven't even decided on what color we want to paint the room.

The colors listed above aren't possible choices, but are instead the colors I'm finding buried under each other. It seems that I'm the first owner in decades to bother stripping paint. Layers and layers of paint. Also a thin layer of stucco for some reason. I'm not sure about the logic of covering bathroom walls and ceiling with stucco, since it didn't seem to have been done to even out the walls. Instead, all the stucco has done is soak up moisture and become moldy in a couple of spots.

The stucco wasn't the only weird layer. The powder blue I mention above is not so much a description of a color as much as it's a description of the consistency of the paint. Removing it is more like brushing dust off of the walls. It looks like someone covered the walls with blue swirls of chalk or pastel, but like stucco, who the heck would do that in a bathroom?

I don't seem to be in a hurry to get the work done, so for the immediate future, our bathroom's going to be a clashing, slowly changing, haphazard collection of harlequin colors.

fags don�t go to swap meets
A certain member of John's family wanted to go to the Swap meet at the Orange county fairgrounds for her birthday, so a swapmeeting I went. It was crowded. The day was warm. The day was long.

I saw only one other gay couple there the entire day, proving that fags don't go to swap meets. We go to flea markets. Sorry, bad private joke. Although maybe not to inaccurate. I wouldn�t be too surprised if the lack of gay boys had something to do with the fact that this swap meet has no vintage section. It's all new crap merchandise.

Some other observations from that day:

-No matter how "tough guy" you dress (doc's, torn and dirty black jeans, jar head hair cut, enimen t-shirt, and snarly face), no one looks tough carrying a mail box shaped like a birdhouse covered in flowers.

-I had forgotten that I like bubble-up.

-$10 swap meet shorts are not a bargain if they look like $10 swap meet shorts.

-Beauty does not make up for stupidity. (this was prompted by a tall, sex puppy of a white guy, who unfortunately was wearing a "proud to be a redneck t-shirt" with confederacy flag)

-I want a bamboo wind chime.

My only other swapmeet comment is more of a question. Why would women want a large hefty purse covered with reproductions of old playboy magazine covers?


token brief mention of a movie
After running around town running errands (like dropping off mail before the postage went up), I dragged my John to see Lilo & Stitch last Saturday night. Cute movie. Nice art. Quirky plot, and perhaps most strangely enjoyable, a protagonist that sort of actually acts like a young girl. Watching a disney character throw a temper tantrum was oddly cool.

As we left the theater, the evilnico side of my personality wondered how many young girls and boys were going to develop prepubescent crushes on David, the Hawaiian, surfer dude, minor character who spends the majority of his screen time dressed only in shorts.


the final bit
How much of a geek am I?
I followed a link to the official star trek-nemises movie web site.
How much of a geek am I?
I was mightily unimpressed by what I saw there.
How much of a geek am I?
I'm still going to end up seeing the flick when it comes out this winter.



more later,

nico



Music:
nada


Want:
some more bubble up


Elsewhere:
a different childhood favorite


<<the one for Nicolas was worse:::: I was promised men in sailor moon drag >>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007