newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Mon 01/08/01

<prior or next>

Mommy what's that? and other questions.

It rained for most of the day today. A dark sort of cold dank rain. Earlier this week, the neighbors peach tree which hangs over part of our upper patio was in full bloom. Nothing but flowers and bees. Now it�s all wet and haggard looking. Many of the flowers have fallen off and are now scattered across the patio and I�m getting depressed.

Well, not super depressed. More of a funk maybe. Anyway, the week:


Thursday 01/04/01:


Every time A constituent gets angry with me, they threaten to sue the government and me personally. Today this threat was from a woman who was mad because I couldn�t do anything about the lizards which live in her walls and stare at her through tiny little holes that only she can see. I went to work with a slight fever, not really felling well only to get yelled at by a woman of questionable mental health. I don�t think it�s that surprising that I went home early and went straight to bed. There�s only so much I can take, even when I�m feeling good.


Friday 01/05/01:


Going to bed early seemed to have done me some good, my fever was gone and I was feeling a little better, which was good because John and I had a full plate that day. The morning was spent doing life maintenance stuff and running assorted errands that I really didn�t want to do. Who looks forward to paying bills and crap like that, not me.

We had lunch with Susan at this health food/fake 50�s diner near her home that afternoon. John had a veggie burrito which looked a lot more tasty than my nearly tasteless ground turkey and spinach egg white omelet. It seems that healthy means hold the flavor. Considering she just had a kid, Susan was looking pretty good and energetic. She and Ron have named their new son Zach. A good solid old fashiony kind of name.

After lunch, John and I went into Long Beach via the Bridge from from San Pedro. Neither of us have been on the bridge in years. We couldn�t even remember if there was still a toll or not. There wasn�t and hadn�t been for a while.

We went into Long Beach to visit Tony. He was sick for a while last year and has lost a bit of weight, but he�s doing much better now. His appetite is back and he is starting to get some of the weight back. He and John work out at the same gym and have decided to start working out together when their schedules permit.

He showed us the first two episodes of the American Queer as Folk. Being cableless, John and I hadn�t seen it yet, but I have heard enough that I knew roughly what to expect. The show was interesting mainly in that you don�t normally see that kind of life portrayed on TV. An occasional movie maybe, but not so much television. It wasn�t my life or experiences on screen, big surprise. There isn�t much call for TV shows featuring practically married mixed race 30 something gay semi-sububanite couples who don�t party hard every night I guess. At least some part of the community was getting some sort of exposure.

After the show, we all went over to Barb and Laurie�s to exchange some gifts, then went to one of the local Hoff�s Huts for dinner (a cobb salad wrap w/fries for me). I was tuckered out by the time we got home that night.


Saturday 01/06/01:


I spent the morning being farmer Nico by clearing out the last of the tomatoes. They were sickly aphid covered things. I usually don�t wait until January to deal with them, but I�ve been getting kind of burnt out on gardening.

I went down to Orange County in the late afternoon to do the dinner and movie thing with Kristen. She wanted to try this place in Laguna, but that turned out to be a no go. We went to the new Different Drummer ( an average lesbigay bookstore), looked around, then headed over to the restaurant a little after Five to eat. The Bar was open and busy when we got there, but the kitchen wasn�t going to open until fairly late that night to serve �supper.� Not enough folks eating dinner at diner time to justify operating the kitchen. Actually, considering how busy the bar was, they probably don�t need to really bother with the kitchen at all to earn money.

So we had dinner at the Italian place at the Irvine Spectrum instead (brushetta and a spicy penne dish for the both of us). After dinner, we saw Dolphins at the Imax. It was a determinedly �fun� documentary and was cool. I was reminded of the time I was at Sea World San Diego and saw three dolphins having sex in one of the tanks. Two males were taking turns with a female (at least I think it was a female) and each other and a little boy pointed at a dolphin penis and asked his flustered mom �mommy what's that?� Not quite a Disney moment.

Speaking of (writing of ?) Disney, there was huge plum of smoke of Disneyland when I drove past it on my way home that night. I must have just missed a firework show.


Sunday 01/07/01:


I was a tired lazy bum and spent most of the day playing Sims. My Lesbian family isn�t doing to great lately. One of the Moms is a go getter army gal but her partner would rather sleep all day and party all night. She keeps getting fired from her jobs. Big surprise there. The bio son it taking after his party mom and getting poor grades as well.

In addition to wasting time playing games, I watched some more Trigun episodes. The protagonist is turning into a complicated character, but he�s still basically a loon at heart.

If only all my days could be spent watching TV and playing games. This grown up stuff like work is tedious sometimes. Anyway, enough of this.



More later, nico




<< left---right>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007