newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Mon 03/26/01

<prior or next>

Vocal cords, beef and Wim, but no pith or wit.



No pithy and or witty comments today, or more accurately, no attempts at an interesting introduction. Nope, today it's just a roundup of the weekend. Well, aside from this nonwitty, nonpithy introduction that is. Anyway, the entry proper:

Fri (03/23/01):

I had an appointment with my doctor to check out the growth on my vocal cords. I still think he's kind of a geek, but I guess it doesn't matter because he had good news. The growth is smaller than last time, barely there in fact. So unless I start constantly losing my voice again, which would mean it had grown back, I don't have to see him for further visits and his jamming little camera probes up my nose will be thing of the past.

My doctor is at the Kaiser Sunset facility, so on a whim, I decided to drive through part of Siverlake after getting the good news. There are a lot more purposely funky retail stores and bistro type restaurants then when I used to work in the area. I didn't stop and check any of them out, but it was still interesting to see how the "old" neighborhood was changing into its latest incarnation.

One thing hadn't changed though, the old odd revolving podiatrist sign on Sunset Blvd. One side of the sign has a happy, healthy, anthropomorphic foot, while the other has a sad, sick, beaten down foot person. I read somewhere that people look at it as kind of a fortune telling sign. If you saw the happy foot first, well that meant you were going to have good luck or something. Conversely, seeing the sad foot meant bad news. I don't know how serious the article was, but I did play the game, kinda. For me the happy foot meant I would probably maybe have a good day. The sad foot guy meant nothing, because it would be silly to believe that your fate could be determined by a revolving sign. Especially one with foot people on it.

I stopped at Rockaway Records on the way home and indulged myself in some used CDs. Nothing to spectacular, just a Dance mix album and a collection of songs by Leiber and Stoller.

Sat (03/24/01):

Kristen came over and we drove out to her old neighborhood and had a late lunch/ early dinner at Natalie Thai. Normally the food and service are very good. Today was a little different. We had a really strange waitperson. Aside from the fact that he wouldn't look directly at us, he seemed very distracted. I don't know if he had decided he only good from a certain angle, or if he was busy cruising a cute guy and/or gal at another table or what. His odd behavior may explain why we didn't get what we had ordered. Instead of garlic chicken, he brought out garlic beef. It was good, so we didn't send it back and it went well with the spicy beef salad and brown rice, but still. So with the error, I ended up "falling off of the beef wagon" not once, but twice during the meal. Of course, I could have not eaten it, hehe, yah right.

The meal was really good in a spicy, garlicky, cilantro"y", every bite is full of flavor sort of way. I did pay a price for all the good food though. My lips were still cracked from my fever from being sick last week, so each bite stung a little. Not enough to stop me from eating though.

After the meal, we headed over to Melrose so Kristen could check out an Anime store. I haven't been on Melrose in years. I used to hang out there occasionally when I was in High School. Of course, that was way back in the mid eighties. Amazingly enough, some of the stores from my youth were still there. Not many, but a few. There are also still Punks hanging out on some of the street corners for some reason. Of course those kids probably hadn't even been born yet when Punk was around the first time.

The anime store was sort of interesting in a very bright and colorful way. Lots of art featuring perky young people fighting evil, yielding swords, fighting robots, eating food, laughing at whatever, or just standing around looking really cool in the way that only young people can. A lot like the real life teenagers who were hanging out in front of the store. Um, the standing around looking cool part that is, not so much the fighting robots part.

Sun (03/25/01):

I had planed to get a lot of work done out in the yard. Weeding, prepping planting beds, clearing debris, a bunch of stuff. Had planned that is, I was Mr. Insomnia again and got only maybe two hours of sleep the night before. I was a tuckered pup that day and didn't get much of anything done other a little bit of weeding.

Only thing of note that day was that Tom P. called. He actually met and talked to Wim Wenders a couple of weeks ago. Most of the people he's told the story to went Wim who? Apparently I was suitably impressed. Well, sort of impressed, he called in the morning and I still wasn't quite awake.

Anyhow, More later,

nico

<before::despues>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007