newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Tue 05/22/01

<prior or next>

Unglamorous and Pimply and Long and Long and Long and Long.

This was supposed to have been posted yesterday, but I didn't feel like working on it because work was bleagh and I got into a stupid fight with John when I got home last night and I was tired and I'm sort of dissatisfied by my life right now and I have three mosquito bites on my legs and whole bunch of other nonsensical reasons.

Well, late or not, here is the past week in all of it's unglamorous pimply faced details:

Monday 05/14/01:

During work, one woman cried in my office, two men lied to me about their names, three different people yelled at me that I wasn't doing enough to help them and four different people didn't bother to show up to their appointments.

I don't have a "five" which is a good thing I guess.

Tuesday 05/15/01:

I used to joke with a former supervisor of mine that he would be extra lenient whenever he had to deal with beautiful women. He would deny it and while laughing tell me just to wait until I was in his position and had to "lay the law down" with some hunk of a guy.

I was thinking of this because I had a meeting with a sexgod of a man that morning. I was the total professional despite the fact only 90% of my mind was concentrating on doing my job. The other 10% was contemplating leaping over my desk and tackling the poor guy to the floor.

In case anyone cares, Mr. sexpot was a forty-five year old, white guy with bright blue eyes, a slim build 'cept for a little bit of a tummy and thin, blondish hair which had pretty much receded to the top of his head. Dang but that guy was sexy. He was also very married. To a woman. Shucks. ~chuckle~

Wednesday 05/16/01:

Wednesday was a very, very, very, very long and trying day and should never be spoken of ever again.

Thursday 05/17/01:

After several weeks of crying people and screaming people and threatening your life people, I had had enough, so I left work early. A normal person would have probably taken a sick day or something, but I had several projects due that afternoon, so the best I could do was to leave a couple of hours early.

It's amazing how much my morale improved knowing that I wasn't going to be there the full day. Imagine what an efficient and model employee I would be if I could somehow manage to take off an entire day or better yet several days. Maybe even all in row! LOL

Actually, John and I are working on some vacation plans for this summer. With some good timing and luck, in a couple of months I will be able to write that I'm not updating because I'm off to where ever it is we end up going to.

Friday 05/18/01:

Sometimes I will spend hours in the back yard working on assorted projects and tasks and when I'm finished, I'll look down on it all and wonder just what the heck did I just accomplish anyway. Despite all my efforts, it all still looks the same. Then I will get all vaguely depressed and mopey. I was having one of those days.

One thing keep me from getting depressed though, a kitten. A little grey and white kitten started following me around hunting my feet and the assorted weeds and plants I was dealing with. She was cute and the little midget knew it. When I finally did sit down to give her my full attention, she decided to play king of the mountain with me cast as the mountain.

So I'm sitting out back with a kitten sitting on my shoulder batting my nose with her paws. Not so easy to be prissy and dark with that happening. I was pretty sure that she belonged to our yuppie neighbors, but they weren't home, so I couldn't check.

~~~~~~~

Kristen came over that evening and we saw The Mummy Returns over at Hastings Ranch. The sound decided that it didn't want to work half way through the movie and instead of dippy dialogue, we had a very loud annoying buzzing noise. We should have known better than to try and see a movie there. It seems like like every time Kristen and I go to that theater, something goes wrong. The last time we went the film caught on fire. The staff did manage to get the sound working again fairly quickly and I don't think we missed to many shocking plot revelations.

Even with the technical difficulties, I didn't like the movie that much. It didn't have anything original, it was just louder, bigger and "more," just not better.

Dinner was sushi 'n stuff at Kabuki. We ended up sitting near two guys who were there on a date. I didn't pay too much attention to them, but for most of the diner I heard only one voice droning on and on with only an occasional "uh huh" from the other guy. I'm guessing that somebody was dominating the conversation a bit.

The neighbors still weren't home when I got back from dinner and considering there are wild animals wandering the neighborhood and considering that the kitten was hanging around the back door crying for attention, John and I took her in for the night.

Saturday 05/19/01:

Nothing much happened during the day, but I did have dinner with some former coworkers of mine. We get together every once in awhile to catch up and eat food. This time we met at the Block in Orange (an open air mall that always gives me a headache if I stay there too long). Because we always force the Orange County people to drive a long ways for these get togethers, it had been decided that this time we would make it convenient for them. So in classic bad sitcom style, all of the Orange County people canceled out at the last minute and the rest of us drove for dozens of miles for nothing.

Well, not for nothing, we had very "tall" food at a New Mexican place and wasted some time and money playing games at Dave and Busters.

Normally John and I go to these things together, but he had an event of his own to be at that night (one that I didn't really feel like going to anyway). The little cat was still wandering about that night and the neighbors still weren't home, so yup, she stayed with us again.

Sunday 05/20/01:

Neither John nor I slept well the night before and we spent most of the day being tired. For most journals, that would mean we had a night of wild sex. Unfortunately when I write I couldn't sleep, it just means that I couldn't sleep. :-)

The yuppie neighbors came back that morning and the kitten turned out to be theirs. Giving her back was sad, but hopefully they'll keep a better eye on her. There is nothing wrong with having an outdoor cat, but considering how many wild cats there are in the neighborhood, thinking that the little thing would have been able to keep other animals from eating her food was silly (her food was all gone, so they didn't even realize that that she hadn't been over in their yard the past couple days).

John and I had plans to go down to Long Beach and watch the parade and do the festival thing (Long Beach Gay & Lesbian Pride) with some of the Long Beach lesbians. The plans didn't quite work out though. Due to a terrible parking and laziness and bad timing, only Barb and Bess were there at the parade, so instead of a large crowd of obnoxious and fun loving friends, there was only a group of four half sleepy and not so obnoxious friends.

The parade itself was OK, pretty much the same as all the other years. It started off as usual with Dykes on Bikes. Cool and very popular with the crowd. They were followed by the usual assortment of politicians, private companies, religious groups, bars and nonprofits walking, driving, performing and whatevering as they made their way down Ocean Blvd. For some reason, the Disney folks/ dancers did a number from Hair. I don't really get the connection, but whatever.

After the parade ended, we headed over to the SuperMex over on 2nd street for lunch. By the time we finished eating, it was already past 3:30. Barb didn't feel like going into the festival, Bess had already left for home and John and I were both tired and we still had grocery shopping and other errands to run, so we headed back home as well. Going to the grocery store instead of doing Pride is kinda of boring, but at least there's food in the house now.

Thinking about it, this is was the first time I haven't gone to the festival since I was 18. That is a lot of times. Besides, it's not like it's the only pride event here in Los Angeles, although I usually don't go to many of the other Prides. Oh well.

More later,

nico

(in a decidedly negative mood aparently, I guess I should go make up with John ;-p)

<This is not a links page::Misspent days>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007