newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


mon 05/28/01

<prior or next>

Misspent Days and sex injuries

aka The TV was on a lot. A LOT.

The weather can't seem to decide if it should be warm or cool. One day it will be sunny and hot, the next day overcast and if not exactly cold, definitely not warm either. The jacarandas are also in bloom right now, so there are purple flowers littering many of the local streets. Things here have been pleasant and well Nice. Not great, not Bad, just nice. Well, except work. As usual that's just been hectic and ridiculous.

I spent Wednesday (05/23/01) at our San Pedro office, which was an interesting change in scenery. Instead of my usual view of the industrial building across the street with the large assortment of hazmat signs next to the doors, I had views of the harbor. A bit of an improvement I think.

Well, that is enough of the work week, here's the misspent weekend:

Friday 05/25/01:

I did some shopping in the early afternoon. Stopped at the comic store near PCC and bought an issue of Lucifer and some Sandman related one shot thing. I hit a few more stores after that and ended up buying some episodes of Farscape on dvd.

I've heard good things about the show, but being cable free guy, I hadn't really seen any of the episodes. Well, I did see most most of one episode at the San Diego comic book convention last year, but that was a little odd. Not the show, just the situation.

I was sitting at the groovy/ hip/ sleek couch at the Sci FI cable booth watching the big TV thing they had set up, when a guy sat down next to me. He looked to be in his early twenties and if i'm remembering correctly was in jeans and a black anime T-shirt. He started talking to me, making one really bad joke after another. Even though I just nodded at the first joke and didn't say anything back to him, he kept on talking and talking about really strange things. I didn't want to be rude, but I was more interested in watching the TV show than making small talk with some weird guy.

Afterwards, I couldn't decide if he was a geeky, chatty, straight guy with poor people skills trying way too hard to be friendly or a geeky, gay guy with poor people skills who was trying to chat me up. Strange people at comic book conventions are decidedly not unusual, but I can usually tell when they are hitting on me. I couldn't tell with this guy. Heck, I couldn't even tell if he was gay or not. He didn't set off the gaydar as much as he set off the "this guy is kind of creepy" dar.

Anyway, instead of watching Farscape when I got home, I watched Cowboy Beebop instead. I think I forgot to mention that I borrowed the first few episodes of Cowboy Beebop from Kristen in my last entry, so anyhow, I did. Which is why I spent the late afternoon watching bounty hunters fighting and shooting things up in outer space. The animation was very good and design wise everything looked gorgeous, but I just couldn't seem to get into or care about the characters. I ended up fast forwarding though a lot of it.

~~~~~~~

After dinner, John and I watched The Journey Jared Price. This was one of the gay themed flicks that John bought at the Hollywood Virgin a couple of months back. Actually, this was the one that the clerk used as an excuse to flirt with John. He told John that it was his favorite movie, it was practically his life and that maybe he come over to John's place so they could watch it together.

I guess this means that the clerk came to Los Angeles as a young kid, lived in a youth hostel, then came out of the closet after having an affair with an older man who happened to be his employer. Either that or he wanted to cast John as the older man with money. hehe

The flick was OK, neither great nor bad. It was actually kind of sweet in an after school special kind of way.

Saturday 05/26/01:

Kristen came over in the afternoon and we had a late lunch at the Gaucho Grill over in Old Town. Kinda dry salmon for the both of us. We wasted some time at Rizzolis, which may be going out of business considering that nearly everything was on sale and the entire store was looking picked over. The only books that they had that seemed worth buying, I already owned.

We had some amazingly good sorbet from the gelato place that I'm forgetting the name of in the One Colorado complex. I had mix of melon, watermelon and lemon. They make the stuff there and it was almost as good as sex. LOL

The only bad thing was that as soon as we sat down to start eating, a cold wind started blowing. The day was cloud covered and not that warm to begin with and by the time we finished eating it was looking like rain.

We talked about a bunch of different stuff, including Cowboy Bebop. It turns out that Kristen had a similar reaction to mine. She liked the animation, but had problems getting into the story. She described it as being very "Dude." Um, that should be pronounced "Duuuuuuuuude."

We also talked about her assorted web pages. She wrote some Bubblegum Crisis slash fiction and now she has people e-mailing her offers of adoration and worship. We didn't talk about this site, 'cause I haven't told her about it yet.

At first I didn't tell her because I wanted it to be a surprise. I wanted to have her stumble across my site while checking her site hit stats. Unbeknownst to me, her assorted sites are getting hundreds of hits a week and she has stopped looking at details like that. I should just tell her, but it would be weird now since so much time has passed. We normally talk about everything and keeping a secret from her is just odd. I'll have to deal with this soon.

John had a work thing to be be at that night and I ended up watching multiple episodes of Farscape. I can see why it's described as a cult show and I've decided that I like it. It's very quirky and the lead actor guy is very easy on the eyes. I don't like enough enough to run out and get cable, but I may buy some more of the episodes as they come out.

Sunday 05/27/01:

I worked outside for a while trimming back the boganvilia so that it wont devour the front of the house while John did laundry and such. We really didn't accomplish too much that day except for watching the rest of the "gay" movies that John got at Virgin weeks ago.

The first one was Lola and Billy the Kid. Queer and transsexual Turk immigrants living a hard, violent life in Germany. I didn't see it when it came out in the theaters and all I could remember about the reviews was something about a murder and violence and yup, there was a murder and some violence. My only real problem with it was that I was surprised when it turned out that the character Murat was only supposed to be fifteen, possibly sixteen years old. Up until the line of dialogue that explained his age, I had thought he was a university student and about twenty or so. I guess he suffered from dawson's creek syndrome. hehe

I didn't like the second movie Head On. A largely closeted, butch, young, Greek, Australian guy has a screwed up life, takes some drugs, has some rough sex, messes up and has a revelation. It's not like I don't have any experience with the concept of being queer and coming from an macho obsessed immigrant background, but I just couldn't seem to get into the film or caring about the messed up protagonist.

Taken together, the two films would seem to say that gay, working class immigrants in an Anglo culture/ nation only have two options, be a poor, butch hustler or a poor, drag queen. Not a whole lot of choice there.

Monday 05/28/01:

John and I had lunch at the Good Earth and saw Shrek at Hastings Ranch. I wasn't that interested in seeing the flick, until I read in the Times that there were parodies of Disney fairy tale characters in it. I ended up enjoying the movie far more than I thought I would. Like a lot of good "Family" fare, there was more than just a simple story for kids. Included were a lot of elements, innuendoes and jokes aimed at the adults in the audience as well.

No butch hustlers and no drag queens this time around. Although, the wolf never did take off Grandmothers night gown the entire movie. hmmm.

More later,

nico

Uh, before I change my mind, here is an extra bit I almost edited out:

I've never really talked about John's and my sex life here for various reasons (prudishness among them) and I'm not going to start now, except to mention that I somehow twisted my right knee last night. The annoying thing is that I have no idea exactly how I did it. I wish I could say that this has never happened before, but I can't. I've hurt the same knee a few times back during my more uh, athletic/ contortionist/ I was younger and a lot more flexible college days. I've managed not to do this for years and I hope I'm not starting up an old habit again. I'm such a terrible liar that people never believed my "I hurt my knee running" stock answer.

So anyway, I'm now limping. You would think that I'm old enough to avoid sex related injuries. LOL

<Pimply and Unglamorous::Men, Relationships>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007