newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Mon 06/04/01

<prior or next>

Boring Accounts of Boring Days

aka: nico the slug




I've stayed late at work every day this week. I hate eleven/ twelve hour work days, unfortunately it can't be helped, work is utterly insane right now. Also tedious and dull, so instead of boring accounts of long days in the office, let's just skip straight to the boring weekend:

Friday 06/01/01:

John and I saw Six Dance lessons in Six Weeks at the Geffen that night. Uta Hagen and David Hyde Pierce as a cranky retired woman living in Miami and a cranky dance instructor who become good friends despite themselves.

A couple of lines were forgotten and had to be fed to the actor, but it's still in previews, so I'm assuming that he performances will get better with time. There wasn't anything surprising about the story, but the acting was good despite the flubbed lines. Overall it was one of the better shows this season.

No Tom Hanks in the audience this time, but there was a Laugh in comedienne and one of the Monty Python guys there that night. Very uh, "A-list hollywood" I guess.

After a quick stop at a drive through for some fast food, we headed back to the east side to home and hearth.

Saturday 06/02/01:

My morning and afternoon was spent in a futile attempt at restraining nature. We have a golden showers rose which I unwisely put next to the gate on the right side of the house, so I spent part of the day trying to restrain it so that it would be possible to walk past the beast without injury. It fought back and my arms are scratched up some, but at least I can walk by the thing without fear of loosing an eye. Some of the tomatoes had out grown the flimsy little cages I'm trying to control them with so I also had to deal with that.

Kristen and I decided to do the dinner and dancing thing again that night. We could have made some better choices about where to do all this though. Dinner was a so-so meal at an americana type place and afterwards, we ended up at the Suite in Long Beach again. The music was largely bleagh, although we did dance some just for the heck of it.

The only mildly interesting thing that night was when a group of really butch Philippina dykes teased their friend into asking a more fem looking Latina woman to dance. They laughed and hooted when she did and walked by them with the woman onto the dance floor. At least that's my interpretation of what happened. Even if the music hadn't drowned out most of their conversation, there was the fact that I wouldn't have understood them anyway since they were speaking Tagalog.

Sunday 06/03/01:

John went to a work party that was "No spouses" for some reason. So while he was gone, I went on a shopping spree, meaning that I spent a whole thirty bucks on two used dvd's. So we now own the James Whales version of Frankenstein and the Bela Lugosi version of Dracula. I've been curious about the extra stuff on both films, but not so curious that I felt like paying full price for 'em (or just renting them either I guess).

The Dracula dvd may prove to be interesting, it has the original version, the Philip Glass rescored version as well as the original spanish version. Back in the day, some studios would film foreign language versions of movies concurrent with the english version using the same scripts and sets. From what I can remember reading, the foreign language versions would film at night, after the english speaking cast and crew had finished for the day.

I didn't watch either movie that day, but I did sort of, kind of watch part of the Tony awards, very gay boy of me, except it wasn't. I lay on the couch being a slug with remote in hand stopping on the award show every once in a while. Not exactly the theater queen stereotype. Then again, I'm hardly a show queen.

Anyway, it seems like the Producers was winning something every time I tuned in. I remember liking the movie, although it has been years since I've seen it and I don't really remember much of it other than the spring time for hitler number and the very end. I guess I should rent it or something, Although that may be hard now, with the awards and popularity and all that.

OK, enough of this.

More later,

nico

(oh, in case anyone cared, the anniversary is June 15. I used to remember it with "the ides of June." Now I just have to not forget how to remember it again. Did that make any sense?)

<Men, Relationships::Tedious>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007