newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Mon 10/29/2001

<prior or next>

Sad, Sick and Bleagh




I am feeling vaguely sick. Not a very good thing, especially if it does explode into full blown illness. I have tons of sick time I can use at work, but I also have tons of projects and tasks that all need to be done now, if not yesterday. I can�t afford to be sick. Although, work has been soooooooooo frustrating and annoying that I am perilously close to not caring. Just call me disgruntled nico.

Work is too dull a subject to dwell on, so lets move on. Of course, the question is, move on to what? Not to much has happened the past week. All in all, it was fairly dull. About the only thing of interest is that John and I went to see the revised/ redone/ remade/ revisical version of Flower Drum Song playing at the Mark Taper on Friday (10/26/2001).

The Mark Taper is kind of a small pace to be doing a full blown musical, but they made good use of the space, expanding out into the audience when necessary. The show was good, but unfortunately, John and I had an ill timed idiotic fight right before we left the house. I wasn�t in the best of moods for most of the night, although it manage did cheer me up.

I�d compare the updated story to the original, but to be honest, I have no idea what the original story is. I saw the movie once on TV as a kid, but I can only vaguely remember something about a woman singing in front of a mirror. Which would have been I enjoy being a girl I guess. Other than that, the movie and plot is pretty much a blank.

The woman next to me kept nodding off throughout the night, but strangely enough, I managed to ignore the jerky movements of her head as she would suddenly wake up every few minutes. Despite this, she seemed to be enjoying the show.

Other than a polite hello when she first sat down, I didn�t speak to her that night. I got the impression that she was a tourist from the east coast and was not dealing very well with the difference in time. There was no real reason to come to this conclusion, but it felt right.

She did do one other strange thing though. During the second act, someone tells a joke about how his parents disapprove of him. It�s genetic, they're Chinese and he�s not a doctor. It�s an old and often used joke, but it was still funny. Like the majority of the audience, I laughed. She didn�t though. All she did was stare at me oddly.

Other than the play, my free time has been spent either puttering around the back yard, not accomplishing anything of value, or puttering on the computer, not accomplishing anything of value.

John bought the House Party expansion pack for the Sims last week, so I have been wasting time playing that. I�m not that good, but I have playing it. The problem seems to be that I am a terrible Sim party host. For some reason my guests have a tendency to all congregate in the bathroom and yell at each other.

John is much better at it. Interestingly enough, the first time he played the game, he had a male exotic dancer pop out of a cake and dance around. While all the male sims hovered around the dancer clapping and having fun, all the women suddenly decided they were thirsty and left in search of drinks.

I feel that I should make a comment about that, possibly make a gay party joke or something, but I don�t feel up to the task.

Aside from wasting time playing games, I also wasted time taking on-line personality tests. Yeash, that is sad isn�t it? Although, I now have the benefit of knowing that I am a borderline obsesive-compulsive, paranoid, nongeek, not straight passing, good friend, co-dependent kind of guy. Oh, and that my animals are the porcupine, because I�m so prickly and/or the bat, because I�m out partying every night. Which is just silly, because everyone knows that my animals are in fact the crow and the wolf. Um, never mind why. There are no links to any of the quizzes, cause I didn�t fell like trying to find them all again.

The other thing I�ve been doing lately is checking out the site stats. All is not well. Let�s just say that if the site were a TV show, it would be on the verge of being canceled. The number of hits/ presumed readers has dropped drastically recently. Heck, even the number of weird sex related google searches leading folks here has dropped to almost nothing. I seem to have lost whatever factor it was that was bringing folks here earlier in the year.

So, will I pay attention to consensus and give the site a mercy killing? Nope. I�m still going to keep up the effort for a while yet. In one of my earliest entries, I mention that I am doing all of this for me, not for �ratings.� Therefore, the recent drop in readership shouldn�t bother me. It does, but it shouldn�t.

Anyway, if that whine session hasn�t put you off completely, thanks for sticking around.




More later,

nico

p.s. I could have mentioned in the body of the entry that there was a minor earthquake Sunday morning, but it was relatively small. Only 3.5 or something. I barely even noticed it happened.

p.p.s. If I don�t become bed ridden this week, there will be another entry up sometime on Friday. Either the second to last Japan vacation entry or something called The Lust Machine. Neither entry is being cooperative, so it�ll be the one that I can wrestle into submission first.

<<It's an acquired taste::::Lust machine>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007