newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Tue 10/22/2002

<prior or next>

One of those entries where nico throws out a bunch of largely unrelated events in a vaguely chronological order in an attempt to catch up.



My head feels swollen and huge and I have the achy body thing happening. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, I am officially sick. So instead of going into work and making everyone there sick as well, I stayed home and wrote this drivel.

I forgot to mention two entries ago that I saw Sweet Home Alabama the same weekend as 8 women, but then again sweet home was largely forgettable. I went in to it with extremely low expectations, and well, those expectations were met.

Not surprisingly, the movie scrambled to "have it both ways." That is, it went to great lengths to simultaneously make fun of the south, while also upholding the superiority of "real folk" to "city slickers".

Surprising would be an American romance comedy flick where the woman chooses a sophisticated, articulate, urban man over a barely articulate, macho, rural guy. As a nation we would have had a fit if Reese Witherspoon's character had chosen the rich, politician's son who actually loved her, instead of choosing the man in love with the memories of who she was as a ten year old girl when he first wooed her. It's probably heresy for me to say that in real life the two love birds would end up separated again as soon as they realized they weren't those children any more.

In my opinion at least, a better movie I saw was Miyazaki's Spirited Away. Essentially a girl has an adventure in a strange land and discovers hidden strengths type fairy tale. A very good one though. Kristen and I saw it at the El Capitan, a big old movie house in Hollywood that disney bought a few years back as a showcase theater.

It's the type of place where they have a big onstage dance number featuring people dressed up as dinnerware, before showing yet another revival of beauty and the beast. There were no dance numbers for Spirited Away, although a stage full of large headed witches, living dust motes, and mute monsters prancing about would have been rather interesting I suppose. Weird, but definitely interesting.

Once again, part of the reason I liked the movie was that the young protagonist was allowed to be cranky and crabby. I also enjoyed it because it was just so dang pretty to look at. Gorgeous art work.

Getting to the theater was a bit problematic. Traffic was jammed, and sections of Hollywood Blvd. were shut down for filming. Even pedestrians weren't being let through. Of course, with a set up like that, the theater was obviously on the closed block. We had to hike through back alleys, and assure security that we did have tickets to get to the movie on time.

Filming was still going on when we left the theater. It all looked the same as when we first entered a couple of hours earlier. Throngs of spectators were hanging round waiting to see something, bored looking extras were waiting in parked cars which mirrored the real traffic jam outside of the barricades, camera mounted helicopters were buzzing 'round overhead and security guards and film crew were running around assuring people that "yes, you can cross the street in just one minute," and to "Please bear with us, were just have to get this done before we lose the light."

According to the people I asked, the hubbub was all over something called the Italian Job, or the Italian Man. They didn't quite seem to know what exactly the name of the flick was going to be. Assuming this site is correct though, I�m thinking it was the Italian Job remake.

When it does eventually get released, just imagine me in the El Capitan watching a cartoon during the big traffic jam scene, and your film watching experience will be complete.

~~~


After the flick, we stopped at the Sunset Virgin megastore, where I bought Auntie Mame (Rosalind Russell version), Them!, and the Imax Blue Planet. My official reason was that they were having a sale, but of course, the real reason was that I am a big ol' geeky gay boy.


~~~~


Have I spent missed out having spent most of my adult life in a relationship?

This wasn't exactly said to me per say, but at the last Pasadena area GLBT potluck, a person gave me a bemused look when he found out I've been married since 22. I was more interested in the food than asking about the look, so I didn't press for any details.

The rest of the talk that evening covered topics such as the effects of ground composition on earthquakes (earthquake and a house built on old river silt=not so good), coming out over the decades (maybe it's easier nowadays, maybe not), car repairs (money!), and Palm Springs Pride (Fun, Fun, Fun).

Being the bad fag that I am, I've never been to Palm Springs Pride. Heck, I've never been to Palm Springs period. I really should get around to rectifying that one of these days. I should also get around to going back out to Joshua Tree. I was in college the last time I went hiking there.

~~~~~


John, Barb, Carm, and I went on a L.A. Conservacy walking tour of Art Deco buildings in downtown last Saturday morning. It was an interesting walk.

One of the stops was at the Oviatt building (which some of you may remember from the Gay Weddings TV program a couple of months ago). The restaurant where the two white woman were married in occupies the first floor of what was once an exclusive haberdashery back in the day. The day being the 1920's. The owner of the store had a private penthouse built at the top of the building, which we got to look at briefly. It was very impressive, and from the description of a swimming pool, tennis court, and sand filled roof top "beach," it would have been even more opulent when it was first built.

This would probably be a lot more interesting with photos I think. Maybe I should get around to joining the rest of the world and get a digital camera �-)

~~~~~~


On our way to deal with lunch after the walk, we passed a parking lot filled with assorted mini's, some with camera mounts. Perhaps someone is telling me I should see that dang movie when it comes out.

~~~~~~~


There have been a couple of amusing Google related searches recently.

One was for "Bad Nico," which made me laugh.

Another was for "Don't date gay men," which I found interesting. I'm curious as to who was doing the search and why.

Was it a straight woman, tired of having all her boyfriends turn out to be closet cases?
A gay man sick of the dating scene?
Maybe it was an exgay man looking for some advice on what to do now that he had ruled out men.

The most common searches are still Huell Howser related. Mainly if he's gay or not. Although, for whatever reason pulling quickly through the ranks are searches for "Megan Mullaly nude." Um....personally, I'd rather have nakie huell.


music:
I have been having New Romantic Flashbacks
want:
A spiffy digital camera
elsewhere:
baldsarcasm


<<the one where nico loses it::::It's funnier when it happens to other people>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007