newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Mon 11/12/2001

<prior or next>

Cholo Studs to left, Hot Muscle Bears to the right
aka: Jury Duty




I had jury duty this past week. Monday I was free , but I had to report for court Tuesday and Wednesday (11/06/01 and 11/07/01 respectively). I got pulled for a jury, but the case was settled before we even heard any evidence and I have no real idea what it was the defendant had done.

All in all, not the most productive two days of my life. The majority of the two days were spent sitting around waiting and reading, reading and waiting...and a little bit of observing the other folks waiting and reading in the jury room.

A jury is supposed to be a representation of the community. So else was there?

There was the man who didn�t seem to know that it was no longer 1984 and hadn�t been for quite a while. I haven�t seen a tie that skinny in years.

Not to be out done by 1980�s man, there was another gentleman with very stiff looking blow dried hair and a grey members only jacket.

Far too much makeup woman sat staring at the TV, even when it was off. With her all black outfit and large gold jewelry, she looked like was ready to head out on a night on the town, not a day of waiting.

Sitting next to her was bible reading hush puppy wearing man. Not surprisingly, they ignored each other.

Across from them was a young African American woman who looked really nervous and was making the people seated near her edgy.

Sitting next to me were two older woman who spent the entire time discussing bus routes.

Across from me was grumpy older man, who was extremely annoyed that he wasn�t old enough to be excused from service.

Sitting to his left was really cute, youngish, Latino guy. He was fair skinned and had a light dusting of freckles which ran over his nose and cheeks. His baby boy face, combined with his well manicured hands, seemed fairly incongruous with his �cholo dressing up for court� outfit.

Sitting on the other side of grumpy older man was a big, hunk of a bear/daddy guy in jeans and a plaid flannel shirt. He looked like a background character from Leonard and Larry come to life. His salt n� pepper hair and beard were both cut very short and he had an infectious grin on his face.

Needless to say, I had a hard time concentrating on my book.

~~~~~~~

With jury duty, I was barely at work and before I knew it, it was Friday (11/09/01) and time for a medical appointment. I haven�t mentioned it in the journal, but I have been having problems the past couple of months with my voice. Again.

A year and half ago, I had surgery to remove a polyp from my vocal cords and for a while my voice was normal. Well, no more, I am back to sounding as if I have been smoking heavily for past three or four decades. So, after much angst and foot dragging, back to my nerdy doctor I went.

After the examination, it was determined that needed surgery once again.

Joy.

It wasn�t entirely unexpected. I had a bad feeling about it and the bad feeling was justified. So, sometime in the next couple months I will be posting the thrilling tale of going in to hospital and having somebody whack off hunks of my vocal cords :-)

Once again,

JOY.
~~~~~~~

If I have never made it clear in the journal, John and I now have enough of a discretionary income, that we have season tickets to the Geffin. Which is why I keep mentioning play and show after show and why we were there again Saturday night (11/10/01), watching Do Jump.

Do Jump is not an easily categorized show. Essentially, if Cirque du Soleil is what happens when a bunch of theater people get together and say �Lets put on a circus,� Do Jump is what happens when a bunch of dance people get together and say �Let�s put on a vaudeville show.�

The pieces that night included humorous tap dancing, a man flying kites inside the theater, a trapeze ballet and different embarrassing audience participatory acts.

My favorite number of the night was a dance piece that was either about the barriers, physical and mental, that we create for ourselves, or it was just a bunch of people slamming doors over and over again onstage. Whichever it was, it was enjoyable.
~~~~~~~

Sunday (11/11/01) was a fairly calm day. I had lunch with Kristen at Mango Grill. Pancit Bihon, garlicky rice, chicken adobo and green mango slushies. Very filling.
the one, but it ended up that neither of us felt like letting out our inner �teenage boy movie fan,� so we just had a slow lunch and hung out for a while.

Our conversation that day covered everything from scary S&M Mary Sue fan fiction (would take WAY too long to explain) to just why it is that chocolate covered potato chips are a perfect PMS food (some statements, I just accept and this was one of them).
~~~~~~~

Today, Monday (11/12/01), has been even more lazy. It was a day spent working outside cleaning things up from the last rain in preparation for the next rains. I also spent a couple of hours finishing the latest Michael Nava mystery, Rag and Bone. This is the book that I had time concentrating on during jury duty. It�s a bittersweet novel and is the last Henry Rios story.

Despite having the usual mystery novel protagonist messed up life (alcoholism, abusive father, etc., etc...), the Henry Rios character was a strong Latino Gay Man. Not to many of them floating around in fiction. I�m gonna miss the character.

oh well.



More later,

nico



Music:
Bronski Beat (I�m feeling my age I guess.)

Want:
Nothing at the moment. (Well, other than a way not to need to have surgery, but that�s not happening and besides, the surgery isn�t that big a deal. I�ll survive.)


<<Libido on my Mind::::Non S&M, nonLeather...>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007