newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Mon 11/26/2001

<prior or next>

SemiRandom Bits




My normally tolerable commute home was exceptionally bad tonight. Freeways were clogged, streets were closed, traffic was everywhere and it took forever to get home. John's was worse. His normal forty minute drive took two hours.

While trying to skirt the edges of downtown, I noticed that the patriotic themed red, white and blue lights on many of the skyscrapers had been replaced with a more seasonal red and green scheme. My only response to the change was to gripe out loud "It's only freaking NOVEMBER! Stop it already!!"

Yes, I have been accused of being a grinchy, curmudgeon on many occasions.

~~~~~~~


Kaiser called me at work this afternoon and I now have an appointment for the surgery. The doctors are going to play whack and hack with my throat in early January. Oh well, at least it'll be an excuse to take time off from work.

There wasn't too much to the last week, so there isn't to much to this entry, just some semirandom bits.


The semirandom bits:


Thanksgiving:

Roast Chicken
Baked potato wedges
Assorted greens n' herbs salad w/ feta and toasted pepitas
Tiger shrimp w/ lemon
Chayote (which I didn't eat very much of, since I don't like the stuff)
Pumpkin pie
Mango ice cream (which I ate more than my fair share of)


An excerpt from a response to an e-mail I received regarding a subject I touched upon in the last entry:

"I had thought it was clear that my remarks were solely indicative of me. That is, it was not my intention to be demeaning to the 'Kink' community; rather, I was merely sharing my belief that I would not be a particularly good bondage top or bottom, not that it is 'not good for everyone else.' I'll endeavor to be more clear in the future."


The latest Anime thingie that Kristen showedme:

Kizuna. Enjouji and Ranmaru are college students and lovers. Which is far too simple a premise for a story. Turns out that Ranmaru was nearly crippled in a hit and run accident, which ended his promising Kendo carrier, except that it wasn't an accident, since the driver of the car was actually trying to kill Enjouji, because it turns out that he his actually the (illegitimate?) son of a yakuza crime boss.

To further complicate matters, there's Kai, Enji's younger half brother who is also in love with with Ranmaru and quite possibly with Masa, another yakuza guy and the man who raised Kai, as well.

In other words, it's a soap opera, or more accurately, it's Yaori (sp?). Essentially, gay male romance stories for Japanese teenage girls and housewives.

This was actually my second time seeing Kizuna. Although, it had been so long since I saw it, I had forgotten that there was a humorous, internalized homophobia moment when Ran is repulsed when he finds himself in a "homo bar." Despite the fact that he has a male lover and the two of them have several just short of graphic love scenes throughout the movie.

Before I get an e-mail reminding me that the "gay identity" can be viewed as a Western construct and that in many cultures, including factions of our own, it is possible to take part in "homosexual sexual activities" and not view yourself as gay, I already know that. It doesn't change the fact that the scene makes me laugh.


An annoying work bit from last week that I forgot to include in the last entry:

An angry, racist woman yelled at me off and on doing an unfortunately long phone conversation last monday. Supposedly I (read: the government) was harassing "real" Americans, while supporting dirty, lazy,foreigners who were to busy overbreeding to hold down real jobs. It annoyed her immensely that I would not agree with her on this obvious "fact." Supposedly, as a "Native American," I should have automatically agreed with her.

It wasn't until after she had hung up on me that I realized that we had very different definitions of Native American. I also realized that she must have forgotten my surname over the course of her triad. Otherwise, I'm sure she would have included me among the lazy, dirty, system abusing, smelly foreigners.




More later,

nico



Music:
Orbital The Middle of Nowhere
-

Want:
For my friends and family to not look at me funny when I tell them that no,I'm not joking when I saw that I don't want anything for christmas this year.


<< Non S&M...::::The Uncertainty principle>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007