newest entry
contact
quien es nico?
a links page

Antes:
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000



I also do stuff over at livejournal:
the insufficient blog


otro lugares:
absorbacon
abstractnixon
aiyah
amateur gourmet
amazing adventures of bill
appetites
archerr
bill and kent
blockade boy
center of gravitas
cheap blue guitar
chocolate and zucchini
comics 212
designer blog
dogpoet
edwin
how to learn swedish
hungry tiger
i make things
i was just really very hungry
insequence
island of misfit toys
lady, that's my skull
mysterysteps
news from me
old grey poet
once upon a tart
postmodernbarney
precocious curmudgeon
pretty, fizzy, paradise
roar of comics
something old, nothing new
stop touching my food
strange maps
super underwear perverts
there are some who call me tim
tinman
tmb
ultrasparky



diaryland
diaryland profile





ringsurf gay diary
previous next random list join


Vote for this site at Freedom Forum


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from inmc. Make your own badge here.
The Insufficient Homosexual

Stories from a man who fails to meet media expectations of what it means to be gay:
white, frivolous, over sexed yet sexless, shrill, single, stylish, a clown, unimportant, et al.


Tue 12/04/2001

<prior or next>

The Uncertainty Principle as applied to having Sugar spilled on your lap

or, the entry that was posted a day late because I had a migraine Monday night




My day was spent working at another office since their supervisor had to take off and deal with a family emergency (luckily, nothing too serious). I had a nice view of a rather large pawn shop and off in the distance, the Hollywood sign.

It wasn�t to bad a day. It was fairly calm. Not like last week at all and definitely not like it will be tomorrow when I am back in my own office again.

On that sour note, here�s the past week:


Wednesday 11/28/01:

I spent several hours being driven around in a Sherifs van with folks from several agencies looking at �stuff.� At one of our stops, an elderly man came up to us and started talking about how much pain he was in and how he felt like he was going to die. An ambulance was called and he sat on the ground in front of a store yelling out �OH GOD. OH GOD! Take me! Take me now!�

The owner of the store came out, talked to different people and paid the man no heed. When she saw the worried look on my face, she leaned over and told me �Don�t worry Mijo, old Johnny here gets stinking drunk every day. Every morning he acts like it�s the end.�

When the paramedics arrived, they knew the man and called out �Hey Johnny! whatcha been drinking this time?�


Thursday 11/29/01:
During the course of the day, I was told that I was stupid, that I was an idiot, that I was a good man, that I was racist and I was also told to go f*ck myself as well. On top of all that fun, I didn�t manage to leave work till past eight. Despite the thirteen hour work day, I�m still behind schedule at work.

I am so looking forward to when the new person finishes training and is assigned to the office. Things will be so easy when I will only have to do the work of three people instead of four. My job will be as easy as pie.

Yes, once again, I resort to sarcasm.


Friday 11/30/01:
I haven�t mentioned the cats in the journal for a while. Which sets up that I had to take babe to a vet appointment over in Glendale. The office is also a surgery, so the waiting room was fairly depressing. Animals in stitches, dogs missing limbs and one poor pup who had been malled so badly that he needed a skin graft on his right foreleg.

Babes visit was short, if expensive, and confirmed a fear that John and I had. Her right eye is ulcerated (correct term?). The damage is large enough that the doctor warned that it would take a long time to heal.

It was fairly odd watching the doctor slip on a collagen shield, in other words, a contact lens on to babes� eye. I wouldn�t be able to stick one on to my own eye, let alone a fidgety cat. Guess that's why she�s getting paid the big bucks.

~~~~~~~


That night, John and I saw Copenhagen at the Wilshire Theatre. Mariette Hartley, Len Cariou and Hank Stratton playing Margrethe Bohr, Neilks Bohr and Werner Heisenberg.

I enjoyed the play a lot more than I thought I would. I knew that it had won several awards, including a Tony I think, but all I really knew about it was that it was about a conversation between two physicists. Maybe not the most exciting premise in the world, except that I didn�t realize which two physicists, or that the conversation was that famous, mysterious conversation.

The play was very informative, I knew that Heisenberg had been in charge of the German Atomic program during the second world war, but I didn�t know many of the details, including just how close and how far the Germans were from having an atom bomb.

The conclusions that the playwright came to about Hiesenberg and Bohr were interesting. Especially the idea that the war may have turned out the way it did because Heisenberg didn�t, couldn�t, or wouldn�t do a math equation that any college chemistry grad student would be expected to do in their sleep. As I already wrote, interesting.

At least, I thought so. Some people in the row in front of us left during the first act, so I�m thinking that they had a different opinion.

After the play, John and I played �Just what was that set?� Lecture hall? Court? Church? Model of an atom? All of them? None?

Strangely, a certain person spent that day reviewing Bohrs work with some chemistry AP kids earlier that day. Odd coincidence that.


Saturday 12/01/01:
John�s mom, sister and three of the nephews (ages 9, 7 & 5) came up and we all went to a showing of Harry Potter. It was a cool movie and despite the hype, not identical to the book. Although it was rather close from what I could remember.

The creepy/scary bits seemed far more creepy/scary to me than they should of. I guess I was overly aware of watching it with kids. I needn�t have worried, they didn�t mind those parts at all. In fact, the youngest boy, �Sarge� was bored with the movie.

The older boys loved it though. I sat next to the middle nephew Jeff, who ate throughout the entire movie. When the lights came up, I was covered in some cherry flavored sugar candy stuff that he been eating. I could make a crack about sticky pants, but I�ll safe us all the embarrassment and refrain from doing so.

~~~~~~~


John and I had dinner with Barb and Laurie that night at the Hamburger Marys down in Long Beach. Not the best of food, but satisfactory. It was crowded and they sat us out on a patio. Good thing we were next to heat lamp, since it was cool that evening.

Not �snow falling from the sky cold,� as in the weather described in some of the journals/diaries I follow, but considering I�m a wussy Southern Californian, it was plenty cold for me.

We sat around that night catching up and gabbing about nothing. Over all, a fun evening.


Sunday, 12/02/01:
A certain husband of mine decided that we needed to put up the christmas decorations this year. So he did just that as I sat on the couch reading the sunday paper nodding yes, whenever he would ask me if something looked OK.

So I now live in a festive house (insert appropriate cranky grouch joke here).

I eventually did get off the couch and ran some much needed errands, including picking up some pet food for the cats. The lines at the pet store were long and there was a santa set up to one side. No kids though. This santa had to deal with taking photographs with animals on his lap.

I wasn�t sure how to react.

I�m still not sure.



more later,

nico



Music:
Soul Coughing Irresistible bliss
-

Want:

Something soup or broth like. Maybe with some leeks, mushrooms, greens, garlic and bits of shredded chicken.


<<Semirandom Bits::::Divorce sans Marriage>>

<prior or next>





� 2000-2007